Cryptworm – Spewing Mephitic Putridity

/ 0 Comments / By :

United Kingdom’s death metal duo Cryptworm spews gusts of blood and gore on the full-length album “Spewing Mephitic Putridity” out via Me Saco Un Ojo Records, Pulverised Records, and Extremely Rotten Productions on March 11th, 2022. The pummeling tunes of rotten riffs and cavernous growls ensure that the pair of Tibor Hanyi (bass, guitars, and vocals), and Joe Knight (drums) emboss their songwriting skills to their own cavernous sound. The heavy crunch of the bass guitars and the foul riffs oozes an old-school quality akin to bands like Undergang and Autopsy. Since its formation in 2014 Cryptworm released one demo output, two EPs, and a split album with Archaic Tomb.

From its churning bowels, the guttural growls pour out like some rotten debris engulfing the listener in appalling rancid on the opening track “Disgorged Chunks of Life”. The heavy churn of the guitars and the drums get into some groove section that sounds fucking sick! The grinding drums are powerful and add enough momentum to the song and it’s clear that Cryptworm eschews unnecessary frills, preferring to construct the core of the songs with organic riffing. The thick guitar is loaded with boisterous tremolos and heavy power chords and the distorted bass guitar sounds like a typical death metal band. The song structures are meticulously arranged to settle mostly in the mid-tempo thrusting you with grinding groove sections. The most appealing part of the music is the guttural growls of Tibor Hanyi who delivers a full platter of down-tuned riffs and rotten guttural growls.

Immense Cerebral Decomposition” switches from putrid regurgitating growls when the guitars steps into the tunnels of caveman riffs, the guitars exude infectious grooves that will make your head nod. Although there are some hints to doom and slow basement death metal riffs, the duo keep things simplistic as they continue to shift from creating a wall of heavy sound to groove. While this method albeit being too slow and unpretentious Cryptworm combine the elements of the New York style of death metal a la Rottrevore. “Spewing Mephitic Putridity” ultimately demonstrates the hooks in the mid-tempo, the band is capable of transforming its sound from the down-tuned riffs to inharmonious brutality.

Every song presents different facets for example “Reduced to Liquified Mass” is when the music gets more sickening, the guttural growls and the bludgeoning drums draw similarities to Undergang. The blast beats are never constant but the level of intensity of the guitars on this track unleashes boisterous tremolo-picked riffs and the hammering drums strike heavily. Although the emphasis on grooves seems repetitive this somehow makes the songs sound identical to each other, despite the fact Cryptworm managed to conjure the putrid style of the Finnish masters Demilich. The drum fills are immense and meticulous measured by the precise pacing, songs like “Disembowelment (Draped in Gore)” deliver infectious riffs and they serve as an extra complement to the guttural growls.

Cryptworm may have solidified their take on death on the full-length album, every time the drums increase the pacing of the song the music sounds like a regurgitating noise, the biting tone of the bass guitar, and the blast beats will make you shudder from the utter disgust. Slowing down on other songs like “Premature EntombmentCryptworm hammers a merciful nail to the coffin the song begins with a slow guitar note that echoes with grisly death metal tunes. The cavernous death metal riffs swell as the drums shift to up-tempo bringing some horrifying heaviness there is absolutely no bullshit here as the hammering drums and the stomping guitars swagger throughout the track. “Septic Phlegm Asphyxia” is a total death grind worship the churning guitars offer a dose of visceral riffs that become layered with thick grunts. 

Amorphous Transmutation” will blow you away with the violent pummeling of the drums, the blood-soaked vocals create a moldering feel oozing gore and brutality that takes its influence from the Danish style of death metal. The blast beats and grooves are thrown in every now and then. And with the low guttural grunts adding flimsy slime to the song textures. The album title track starts chaotically where the pounding beats slow down and the cavernous growls inject the most repulsive hooks to this track. “Spewing Mephitic Putridity” is an organic mixture of gore and cavernous death grind metal that seamlessly maintains the putrid nuances of bands like Undergang, Autopsy, and Demilich making for a fascinating experience for fans of old school death metal. 

Release Date: March 11th, 2022
Label: Me Saco Un Ojo Records (LP), Pulverised Records (CD), and, Extremely Rotten Productions (Cassette)

  1. Disgorged Chunks of Life
  2. Immense Cerebral Decomposition
  3. Reduced To Liquified Mass
  4. Disembowelment (Draped in Gore)
  5. Premature Entombment
  6. Septic Phlegm Asphyxia
  7. Amorphous Transmutations
  8. Spewing Mephitic Putridity


  • Music8/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics9/10
  • Production9/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality8/10
8.4“Spewing Mephitic Putridity” is an organic mixture of gore and cavernous death grind metal that seamlessly maintains the putrid nuances of bands like Undergang, Autopsy, and Demilich.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *