Gorephilia – In the Eye of Nothing

/ 1 Comment / By :

Finnish death metal act Gorephilia has been long rendering their craft to the likes of the U.S. death metal a la Morbid Angel. Ever since the band released its robust EP “Ascend to Chaos” in 2011, they approached death metal with unrelenting brutality. With the release of the 2012 debut album “Embodiment of Death” the Finnish quartet yielded much experience that signified their sound in the realms of the death metal. Five years later Gorephilia spun a new evolution: “Severed Monolith” turned to be transcendentally refined and presented different standards hence they have gained appreciation from fans all over the world.

Now the time has come for the band to return with their most anticipated album. Me Saco Un Ojo Records and Dark Descent unveils the band’s most matured sonic architect: “In the Eye of Nothing” spews Cimmerian monolithic tones of ninety’s death metal. Gorephilia seems to have an adhering affinity to groups such as Demilich, Immolation, and Morbid Angel. And there is no doubt that the members created another monstrous record. With four musicians in the line-up like guitarist and vocalist Jukka Aho (ex-Krypts), bassist Tami Luukkonen (Solothus), drummer Kauko Kuusisalo (…And Oceans) and guitarist Pauli Gurko.

In striking commands of tight riffing, Gorephilia displays dexterity and prowess while the riffs here are beyond the norms, the band emphasizes brutality. The tremolos are shrewdly injected in the fast tempos and while there is still a clear dissonance, the songs are stuffed with layers of lead guitars and chunky riffs. “In the Eye of Nothing” manifests an ominous theme which matches perfectly with the reddish hue of the album cover art with the blazing alien-like orbs falling upon the blood-red skies and the murky sea. The impenetrable wall of sound on the opening track “Walls of Weeping Eyes” booms with surging thunderbolts of the dual guitars and fast rumbling of the drums. There are many thick riffs and guitar licks that capture the early style of Morbid Angel.

Within the range of diversity, Gorephilia provides the tracks with a dose of headbanging grooves and double bass. Jukka Aho is the main force behind the songwriting and once again the band proves that their fundamental qualities are vigorously constituted. “Perpetual Procession” exhibits the structural composition of the riffs and lead guitars and when the music shifts to mid-tempo the deep cadaverous growls provide more depth to the songs. “In the Eye of Nothing” demonstrates a familiar musical quality with resemblance to classic albums such as Morbid Angel’s masterwork “Covenant”. As the third track “Ouroboran Labyrinth” blasts in power, the riffs and double bass come fully in charge. The pummeling old school beats of raw death metal reveal the intricate songwriting.

In the Eye of Nothing” maintains its twisted loop and with other obscure menacing tracks such as “Devotion upon the Worm” the band lays a direct emphasis on the slow gloomy riffage. One of the strongest factors of the album is the proficiency of the craftsmanship. And despite the moderate technicality, Gorephilia borders on obscure death metal, while at the same time the songs tackle the old school particularities of the Finnish death metal. While still fast and packed with blast beats the latest endeavor transitions to extreme death metal but still manages to bring a fresh sound and diversity. “Simplicity of Decay” intermingles the extreme and the straight forward brutality with sharp and honing riffs. Gorephilia mixes the raw sound perfectly. Another strong aspect of the album is the reverb-drenched growls and the heavy crushing percussion that holds an immense weight.

Other elements like the rotten riffs are quite persistent where the band further cements their sinister tone over the songs. “Not for the Weak” gives a clear demonstration of the band’s unique complexity, with twists and turns that might seem very new to the fans. Gorephilia applies many variations with the combination of layered solos and a unique riffing style brought into effect. The band approaches the album closure “Ark of the Undecipherable” with such brutality. Heavy guitar chunks and pulverizing double bass churning up a dissonance atmosphere, the blast beats are precisely implemented.

Ladies and gentlemen, Gorephilia has once again released another brutal and tremendous death metal album. “In the Eye of Nothing” is without a doubt one of the strongest if not the best heavy written material released this year. Highly recommended for fans of early Morbid Angel, Demigod, and Immolation.

Release Date: October 2nd, 2020
Label: Me Saco Un Ojo Records & Dark Descent
Track list:

  1. Walls of Weeping Eyes
  2. Perpetual Procession
  3. Ouroboran Labyrinth
  4. Devotion Upon the Worm
  5. Consensus
  6. Simplicity of Decay
  7. Not for the Weak
  8. Death Dream
  9. Ark of the Undecipherable


  • Music10/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics10/10
  • Production10/10
  • Artwork9/10
  • Originality9/10
9.6“In the Eye of Nothing” is without a doubt one of the strongest if not the best heavy written material released this year. Highly recommended for fans of early Morbid Angel, Demigod, and Immolation.
1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] Gorephilia – In the Eye of Nothing (full review) […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *