Memoriam – Requiem for Mankind

/ 0 Comments / By :

British war machine outfit Memoriam once again unleash its fury and bashes through destructive realm of the fallen battles. Requiem for Mankind is a pulverizing death metal record where the band continues to depict their war anthems of pride and retribution. With Karl Willetts on vocals, Scott Fairfax on guitars, Andrew Whale on drums and Frank Healy on bass guitar. For three years in a row this band has never grown weary, the rise to popularity and glory came to existence years after the demise of the mighty Bolt Thrower. Memoriam began to mold their sound towards formidable riffs and solid aggression. And by each studio album the band has reached to its aspiration, building on the sound from the roots of the British death metal.

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing and night

Memoriam are the righteous heirs of Bolt Thrower, the growing popularity was decisively calculated by the relentless effort. The comprehensive skill and the level of proficiency this time shows that the band has reached to its purpose. The third attempt is quite measureless considering the acute tone of the guitars, crushing drums and the infuriating growls which are the main aspect of this and marks a major step in the band’s musical career. Opening salvo Shell Shock shows the skill and prowess in songwriting, the extreme and the violent tone of the blistering riffs and demolishing grooves are brilliantly laid. On Requiem for Mankind the band has shaped their tonal towards the aggressive and the intense full side of death metal. 

The sheer quality on Undefeated is mastered by Karl’s brutal growls as he retained the trademarks of Bolt Thrower. With suppressing grooves and crucial riffs, the bolstering violence is injected into the song dynamics. The third track Never the Victim is one mind blowing song filled with intense melodies & super catchy death metal growls backed by blazing solos and lead guitars. The excitement feels endless with Andrew Whale’s crushing blows and dynamic pacing. Austerity Kills is brought by the destructive double bass combined with heavy guitar grooves, the rapid drumming and pulsating bass lines of Frank Healy add a huge impact to the tracks on the album.

The new album is a monumental work achieved by the band who has become a legitimate model of the old school British death metal, though there aren’t any signs of weakness or flaws on this record. Guitarist Scott Fairfax role on the album is exceptional and well rendering, In The Midst Of Desolation uncovers his effective performance. Through the angry growls of Karl Willetts and the heavy drum blows of Andrew Whale. The endless discharge of the gigantic riffs are brilliantly executed on Refuse to be LedRequiem for Mankind is a pulverizing record, the clear production has boosted the songs on the new album.

The horrific cover art was once again designed by Dan Seagrave, and there is no question about the unique aspect of the symmetrical tone of the music and the war inspired themes of the album. Requiem for Mankind displays a wide range of varieties from the lore of death metal, Memoriam seems to shuffle the styles of Benediction and Blot Thrower. The Veteran is a prime example of versatility launched by the acerbic riffs with the Bolt Thrower style of growls. The new record shows its real potential and excels in many ways and exceeded my humble expectations. This is a gritty record and there is no holding back this time as the band members have stated that they’re unto something huge and effective. The song structure heavily leans on the crushing riffs and the heavy bass rumbles, the album title track shifts slowly with the heavy guitar tone and the compressing melodies of technical skills. 

Those who miss the glorious days of Bolt Thrower must listen to this record, and like other tracks Fixed Bayonets fits perfectly to the typical style of the band. The track features some of the best throttling drums and fat chunky riffs will have you floored on the ground. The advanced and super class production and songwriting has resulted in a tremendous output by the band. Requiem for Mankind is a by all means a perfect record and there is simply no question about the quality. This time the masterful lineup has raised the bar high, and with their darkest and mid pacing instrumental track “Interment” is another great track which will give you goose bumps. There is so much greatness in the tonality of the songs, Memoriam has delivered a powerful record and they are in the process to write their own legacy.

Release Date: June 21st, 2019
Label: Nuclear Blast
Track List:

  1. Shell Shock
  2. Undefeated
  3. Never the Victim
  4. Austerity Kills
  5. In the Midst of Desolation
  6. Refuse to Be Led
  7. The Veteran
  8. Requiem for Mankind
  9. Fixed Bayonets
  10. Interment


  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production10/10
  • Artwork10/10
  • Originality10/10
10"Requiem for Mankind" is a by all means a perfect record and there is simply no question about the quality. This time the masterful lineup has raised the bar high.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.