Sanguisugabogg – Tortured Whole

/ 0 Comments / By :

I had fewer expectations regarding the U.S. death metal group Sanguisugabogg‘s first studio album, although their EP output “Pornographic seizures”, which was debuted in August 2019 through Maggot Stomp, was well-received among the fans. Two years later the band took a big step forward and signed a worldwide deal with Century Media Records. Upon premiering their first single “Dead as Shit”, the hype in the media about the new track was unreal and so I thought to give them a chance. Musically the young lads seem to be highly influenced by the N.Y. style of brutal death. The four members who are comprised of Cody Davidson (drums), Cameron Boggs (guitars), Devin Swank (vocals), and Ced Davis (bass guitar) managed to deliver a consistent album. Steeped in blood-soaked gore that will make you shiver from the disgusting spew of filth.

Spawning from Ohio, Sanguisugabogg‘s album “Tortured Whole” oozes the facets of blood and gore. The foul-ridden riffs reek of sickening slamming tunes of brutal death metal, molding their craft with a sense of brutality. The opening track “Menstrual Envy” kicks off with a thick bass guitar. The riff emanations are loud, groovy and infectious, whereas the songs are distinguishable, they showcase heavy guitar chugs. The caveman style of riffs and the grinding drums will strike you with the crawling mid-tempo technicality. Offering a constant reverberation on the following track “Gored in the Chest”. This one is bolstered by the crucial breakdown and cavernous growls. Sanguisugabogg brings many enjoying moments. Although the majority of the songs on the album are short, they are full of thrills. Whereas structurally the band offers elements of grindcore, the potent mechanism of the double bass and the rattling snare sound ridiculously good. 

There are some vibes from early Mortician albums. One of the strong features of the album, is the brutal vocals of Devin Swank. Sanguisugabogg is a valid example of a modern breed of brutal death, the gory song titles are overwhelming and fit perfectly with the overall theme. Moving to the next track “Dragged by a Truck” is carried by thick bass guitar lines and stomping death metal groove. The album has plenty of sludgy riffs that are rooted in the old school death metal. Sanguisugabogg also mixes up some elements of synth music that reminds me of the eighties sci-fi movies. “Pornographic” for instance and the “Interlube” fits like a short interlude. The band has managed to bring a few variations in each track. “Dead As Shit” is a slow groovy death metal track that displays more of a gory approach. Mixed with mid-tempo vibes, the song moves into some kind of a blender that merges the styles of Cannibal Corpse and Mortician.

Topped with drench reverb growls, the rattling sound of the snare drums reminds me of many old school bands whilst “Tortured Whole” is noteworthy for the down-tuned bass guitar sound. The album title track is amongst the longest tracks and displays powerful mid-tempo impulses from the drums, bass guitar, and the low cavernous growls. “Dick Filet” lays focus on the combined range of the vocals. The drums showcases the technical skills, and however, the putrid discharges of the guitar riffs are all over the place, the drums strike with sporadic blast beats and double bass sections. Though nothing unsettling about the song, each instrument is played by its own unique style of raw death metal.

Packed with chunky riffs “Urinary Inchon” is full of gory textures. From the vocal squeals and the rattling blast beats this time, the drums perfectly bring them into the mix. There are also some prominent influences to early Cryptopsy albums such as “None so Vile”. While “Posthumous Compersion” shreds in a short contest of one minute of bludgeoning blast beats, the final track “Felching Filth” has extremely fast drumming outbursts. The grimy tone of the guitars diffuses slow oozing riffs. “Tortured Whole” of the Ohio-based quartet full-length album is dedicated to the aficionado of old school death metal bands like Vile, Rottrevore, and Cannibal CorpseSanguisugabogg managed to capture the brutality and the technical style of old school death metal, the hype is real! 

Release Date: March 26th, 2021
Label: Century Media Records
Track list:

  1. Menstrual Envy
  2. Gored in the Chest
  3. Dragged by a Truck
  4. Pornographic
  5. Dead As Shit
  6. Tortured Whole
  7. Interlube
  8. Dick Filet
  9. Urinary Ichor
  10. Posthumous Compresion
  11. Felching Filth


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics9/10
  • Production/Packaging8/10
  • Artwork7/10
  • Originality8/10
8.2“Tortured Whole” of the Ohio-based quartet Sanguisugabogg's full-length album is dedicated to the aficionado of old school death metal bands like Vile, Rottrevore, and Cannibal Corpse. Sanguisugabogg managed to capture the brutality and the technical style of old school death metal, the hype is real!
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *