Turmion Kätilöt – Global Warning

/ 1 Comment / By :

For Finnish people (and those who have a strong connection with the country), Turmion Kätilöt (or: “Midwives of Ruin”) is one of the most popular metal bands around. The “disco metal” outfit is known for their harsh sounds mixed with upbeat electronic music, uncompromising lyrics questioning a bunch of things in the world with a lot of humor and wordplay. They recently signed with Nuclear Blast to spread their filth to all corners of the world and here they are with their 9th full-length release ‘Global Warning’


For those who are already familiar with Turmion Kätilöt, don’t expect anything mind-blowingly different on this album. They bring to the table exactly what you expect with the quality and uniqueness that has become a standard for Turmion Kätilöt releases.

If this is your first touch with these crazy fuckers, opening track ‘Naitu’ (including the ridiculous music video) is simply the perfect introduction to their “disco metal” sound with strong party beats reminiscent of nineties electronic music, extreme metal and harsh Finnish vocals about fucking your values. Expect your head to be nodding to the music pretty soon, the urge to dance/go nuts to be rising, and to be trying to sing along to the incomprehensible Finnish language because it’s so fucking catchy.

Not the whole record is filled with these kind of tracks though. There is of course a big chunk of similar “upbeat” and fast tracks like for instance ‘Sylkekää siihen’ (“Spit On It”) ‘Turvasana’ (“Safety word”), ‘Jumalauta’ (“Goddamn”) and ‘Ikävä‘ (“Longing”) and you will love them for it. But here and there they put some of the electronic music a bit on the back burner and go for a heavier or more contemplating approach.

Prime examples of those on this record, is the more heavy industrial oriented track ‘Kyntövuohi‘ (“Plow goat”), the closest you can get to a ballad with Turmion Kätilöt in ‘Viha ja rakkaus‘ (“Hate and love”) and the very gloomy, epic and simply impressive ‘Sano Kun Riittää’ (“Say when (enough)!”). One thing that stays the same for every single track, is that they’re filled with hooks that will pull you in relentlessly. Welcome to phenomenon that is Turmion Kätilöt!

There is a good reason why Turmion Kätilöt has become such a big thing. They’ve established their sound, image and concept to never give in or change it much. It shows in the quality and consistency in every single release they brought into this world. ‘Global Warning’ will be the first hit of Turmion Kätilöt for a lot of people outside Finland. I’m pretty sure a lot of you will like it. The good thing is that you can get another couple of fixes easily since they have 8 more albums with loads of great tracks ready for you… Enjoy!

Release date: April 17th, 2020
Label: Nuclear Blast

  1. Naitu
  2. Kyntövuohi
  3. Sylkekää siihen
  4. Viha ja rakkaus
  5. Turvasana
  6. Kuoleman juuret
  7. Syvissä vesissä
  8. Sano kun riittää
  9. Jumalauta
  10. Revi minut auki
  11. Syntisten laulu
  12. Ikävä
  13. Mosquito A La Carte (To be continued 5)


  • Music / Songwriting8/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics8/10
  • Mix / Production8/10
  • Artwork / Packaging8/10
  • Originality9/10
8.2Turmion Kätilöt have established their sound, image and concept to never give in or change it much. It shows in the quality and consistency of every single release they brought into this world. 'Global Warning' is yet another one of these records, and through their deal with Nuclear Blast they intend to reach more people. Welcome to the phenomenon that is Turmion Kätilöt!
1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. […] Turmion Kätilöt – Global Warning (full review) […]

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *