Dutch funeral doom act Angmodnes to release new album ‘Rot Of The Soul’ in March!

Dutch funeral doom metal act ANGMODNES are gearing up to drop their new album “Rot Of The Soul” on March 1st 2024 via Meuse Music Records and Tragedy Productions.

The album is shrouded in despair and shows the band offering their most textured and innovative release to date.

Stream the album’s opening track, “Beneath”, at THIS LOCATION.

ANGMODNES is a doom metal band formed in 2013 in Utrecht (The Netherlands).

The band was formed by the collaboration of Y.S. (Wilds Forlorn, Apotelesma), M.V. (Apotelesma, Koudvuur) and F.S.
Tragic, anguished and desperate sounding, ANGMODNES came into being as the despondent offshoot of another band, Apotelesma.

After the well received debut “The Weight Of Eternity”, released in 2022, which featured mostly material written nine years earlier, Y.S. And M.V. found themselves rediscovering a love for all things slow and unexpectedly tapped into a wellspring of inspiration.

Following in the wake of “The Weight Of Eternity”, “Rot Of The Soul” builds upon the style and atmosphere present on the debut while at times venturing beyond the typical territories of doom metal.

Spanning over 55 minutes, it takes the listener on a journey through the mind of someone suffering from severe depression, haunted by existential dread and sinking ever deeper into a mire of negation and worldly rejection.

F.S., whose ethereal, haunting vocals could already be heard on “The Weight of Eternity”, lent her voice once more for the new album. With her vocals being such an integral part of the sound of ANGMODNES, it was time to fully bring F.S. into the fold as a band member.


01. Beneath
02. The Hours
03. Agony Of The Sun
04. Stagnant
05. Rot Of The Soul

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *