HAUTAKAMMIO set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album and reveal first track


Purity Through Fire sets September 30th as the international release date for Hautakammio‘s long-awaited third album, Pimeyden Kosketus, on digipack CD format. The vinyl LP version shall follow later.

A dark-horse titan in Finland’s ever-fertile black metal scene, Hautakammio formed in 2012 as a blood pact among four prolific veterans of that land’s underground. Two full-lengths followed in quick succession, in 2013 and 2014, displaying a beautiful savagery that was equal parts blistering speed and spiraling melodicism. While by no means intentionally at odds with the reigning Finnish paradigm, Hautakammio exhibited a refreshing uniqueness within that scene whilst upholding its usually staunch standards of excellence. Their works were perhaps too overlooked, or momentum not followed up on, for the band went on hiatus following the second album.

At long last, Hautakammio are back from the dead “after rotting away for almost five years,” in the band’s words, and have arrived with the iron-fisted Pimeyden Kosketus. Although seven years separates it from its predecessor, Pimeyden Kosketus proves that time has indeed been kind to Hautakammio. With the founding core of guitarist/songwriter Grim666 (Kalmankantaja) and drummer Lima (Azaghal), the trinity is here completed by erstwhile White Death vocalist Vritrahn and his vitriolic throat, who also contributes lyrics to the record. Together, a cryogenic blast of blasphemous black metal from the dark Finnish forests is conjured, invoking nostalgic reflections of 1997. No more but definitely no less, Hautakammio remain as uncompromising as ever, and effortlessly dole out their no-fashion, woodcutting hymns with calculating cruelty and nightsky wonder alike.

Relentless and reinvigorated, Hautakammio have returned from the darkest past to plant the new banner of Pimeyden Kosketus!

Uphold that banner with the brand-new track “Pimeys Tuhoaa Valon Luoman” HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Hautakammio’s Pimeyden Kosketus
1. Harhaisen Mielen Turmlija [6:18]
2. Pimeyden Kosketus [6:13]
3. Lopun Ajan Alku [6:49]
4. Pimeys Tuhoaa Valon Luoman [6:16]
5. Unohtuva Ikuisen Ajan Hautaan [5:46]


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *