Imperial Triumphant unveil cover and track list of upcoming album ‘Alphaville’

, , ,

New York’s nebulous avant-garde metal outfit Imperial Triumphant have announced their forthcoming studio album, ‘Alphaville‘, for a July 31st release of this year at Century Media. Now they’ve revealed the magnificent artwork by Zbigniew M. Bielak and track list.

Alphaville‘ Track List

1. Rotted Futures
2. Excelsior
3. City Swine
4. Atomic Age
5. Transmission to Mercury
6. Alphaville
7. The Greater Good
Bonus tracks
8. Experiment (Voivod cover)
9. Happy Home (The Residents cover)

Imperial Triumphant comment:

We are pleased to finally unveil the cover of ‘Alphaville‘. Working with Zbigniew has been a pleasure and he has put a lot of hard work into this magnificent piece. The detail is extraordinary and it pairs very well with the music. Imperial Triumphant has always tried to go beyond just the sound. We strive to create a fuller experience for the listener. This cover takes you deeper into the abyss of our world.

While cover artist Zbigniew M. Bielak shares the following:

The extreme metal scene of today has long reached the apex of its aural inaccessibility. It has mutated so far beyond the rock and roll genome, that the sole artistic choices we’re left with, are often between cavernous, almost inperceptible pulse and a sonic-induced epilepsy. Although ecclectism is seemingly thriving, it takes a rare band like Imperial Triumphant to really push the envelope. Much like their home turf, lush with warm glimmer of brass, ripe with neuroses of alternative rock and crushing with weights of skyscraping phalloi, Imperial Triumphant are bringing the new crossover. And boasting legendary Trey Spruance of Mr. Bungle and Faith No More fame at the production helm, ‘Alphaville‘ is indeed a transgenre, cinematic venture into gilded bowels of the New York mythos. Based on multiple intersecting perspectives, the cover illustration was meant to convey the soul of NYC. With all of its innate duality, all grandeur and insignificance dealt lopsidedly in seamless 24 hour cycles, and most notably – it’s architecture in mind – I wanted to keep the image perversely neutral rather than dark. Hence, unburdened by metal, aesthetically it’s closer to honoring late master Syd Mead‘s dystopics than – equally inspiring – hostility of HR Giger‘s ‘Samurai‘.

Seems that ‘Alphaville‘ is proving to be quite the talent bomb. Imperial Triumphant have apparently collaborated with a multitude of artists from various corners of the musical world. Among the more renowned artists are Tomas Haake (Meshuggah), Colin Marston (Gorguts) and J.L. “Phlegeton” Rey (Wormed), even going so far as to include – I can’t even believe I’m writing this – a barbershop quartet and choir vocals specialists.

Zachary Ilya Ezrin (vocals/guitars) about the new studio effort:

Alphaville‘ is the newest luxury product from Imperial Triumphant. We’re incredible proud of this lofty work and so glad that we could feature so many talents guests on it. It has been a huge collaborative effort and we’re very grateful to Colin Marston and Trey Spruance for helping to shape this beast. Century Media has also been a tremendous asset in helping us with the resources we needed to create such a record. The final product is truly splendorous.

I don’t know about you, but I am excited to see how ‘Alphaville‘ is going to turn out. In light of all this info it looks like we can expect a gargantuan record. My body is ready!

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *