Pupil Slicer share new single and music video ‘Momentary Actuality’


PUPIL SLICER have shared a new single and music video, titled Momentary Actuality. Momentary Actuality is the third and final pre-release single to be taken from their forthcoming second album, Blossom, due for release on June 2 via Prosthetic Records. The music video further expands upon PUPIL SLICER‘s hard science fiction/cosmic horror rock opera storyline for Blossom, with David Gregory once again providing visual direction.

Stream Momentary Actuality via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order Blossom here.

Speaking on Momentary Actuality, PUPIL SLICER comments:

Momentary Actuality serves as the starting point for the story of Blossom and also encapsulates a musical mission statement for the album, the song encompasses a broad range of styles that are found on the rest of Blossom.

“This song really showcases our progression as musicians on a technical as well as compositional level, with a lot of care taken to craft a very satisfying structure to the over-the-top riffs and breakdowns we’ve come to be known for.”

Drawing influence from a myriad of genre classics across books, movies and videogames, PUPIL SLICER‘s primary lyricist, Kate Davies has crafted a story that conveys personal experiences via an other-worldly narrative. In the wake of a profane signal of alien origin, the album opens with the protagonist losing touch with reality beneath a starry night sky. What follows is a kaleidoscopic voyage through another plane of existence where all is not as it first seems; trapped in a loop of destruction that must be imparted upon others. The tale ultimately comes to a point with serenity achieved in the closing minutes, planting the seeds of hope for an opportunity to start anew. 

Whilst 2020’s Mirrors was lyrically a very raw, biographical album, on Blossom Davies has deftly blended between their lived experiences and the tales that unfold throughout the ten tracks on the follow-up. These stories are supported by the intensely intricate and skillful rhythmic backbone provided by Josh Andrews on drums, Luke Fabian on bass and bursts of shredding leads from former live guitarist Frank Muir. Told through the prism of a fantastical fiction, the visceral delivery and cathartic energy is palpable as ever; intergalactic embellishments can’t destroy the umbilical link between what churns within and what is later spewed out. 

An intense month in the studio with producer Lewis Johns has led to a cohesive and confident sounding album that embraces ethereal singing, electronic breakdowns, and bold experimentation – without ever losing sight of their core tenets. Through darkness and despair, there is always – at the very least – a glimmer of light in all that they do. Drawing from influences as diverse as Nine Inch Nails, Deafheaven, Radiohead, and Botch, PUPIL SLICER have moulded an album that is effervescent with passion but doesn’t shy away from a good hook and a catchy chorus.

Blossom track list
1. Glaring Dark of Night
2. Momentary Actuality
3. Departure in Solitude
4. Creating the Devil in Our Image
5. The Song at Creation’s End
6. No Temple
7. Terminal Lucidity
8. Language of the Stars
9. Dim Morning Light
10. Blossom

Kate Davies – vocals and guitar
Frank Muir – guitar
Luke Fabian – bass
Joshua Andrews – drums

PUPIL SLICER have also recently announced a number of 2023 tour and festival dates, including their first ever shows in mainland Europe with Boris.

PUPIL SLICER tour dates:
̶2̶2̶ ̶A̶p̶r̶i̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶R̶o̶a̶d̶b̶u̶r̶n̶ ̶F̶e̶s̶t̶i̶v̶a̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶T̶i̶l̶b̶u̶r̶g̶,̶ ̶N̶L̶2̶9̶ ̶A̶p̶r̶i̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶D̶u̶d̶e̶f̶e̶s̶t̶ ̶-̶ ̶K̶a̶r̶l̶s̶r̶u̶h̶e̶,̶ ̶D̶E̶*̶
̶3̶0̶ ̶A̶p̶r̶i̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶L̶e̶s̶ ̶C̶u̶i̶z̶i̶n̶e̶s̶ ̶C̶h̶e̶l̶l̶e̶s̶ ̶-̶ ̶P̶a̶r̶i̶s̶,̶ ̶F̶R̶*̶
̶2̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶C̶y̶p̶r̶u̶s̶ ̶A̶v̶e̶n̶u̶e̶ ̶-̶ ̶C̶o̶r̶k̶,̶ ̶I̶R̶*̶
̶3̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶B̶u̶t̶t̶o̶n̶ ̶F̶a̶c̶t̶o̶r̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶D̶u̶b̶l̶i̶n̶,̶ ̶I̶E̶*̶
̶4̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶L̶i̶m̶e̶l̶i̶g̶h̶t̶ ̶2̶ ̶-̶ ̶B̶e̶l̶f̶a̶s̶t̶,̶ ̶U̶K̶*̶
̶5̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶R̶o̶o̶m̶ ̶2̶ ̶-̶ ̶G̶l̶a̶s̶g̶o̶w̶,̶ ̶U̶K̶*̶
̶6̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶V̶i̶c̶t̶o̶r̶i̶a̶ ̶H̶a̶l̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶S̶e̶t̶t̶l̶e̶,̶ ̶U̶K̶*̶
̶7̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶R̶e̶c̶o̶r̶d̶ ̶J̶u̶n̶k̶e̶e̶ ̶-̶ ̶S̶h̶e̶f̶f̶i̶e̶l̶d̶,̶ ̶U̶K̶̶̶
̶9̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶C̶o̶l̶o̶s̶ ̶S̶a̶a̶l̶ ̶-̶ ̶A̶s̶c̶h̶a̶f̶f̶e̶n̶b̶u̶r̶g̶,̶ ̶D̶E̶*̶
̶1̶0̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶T̶r̶i̶x̶ ̶-̶ ̶A̶n̶t̶w̶e̶r̶p̶,̶ ̶B̶E̶*̶
̶1̶1̶ ̶M̶a̶y̶ ̶-̶ ̶P̶a̶t̶r̶o̶n̶a̶a̶t̶ ̶-̶ ̶H̶a̶a̶r̶l̶e̶m̶,̶ ̶N̶L̶*̶
12 May – Hafenklang – Hamburg, DE*
13 May – A Colossal Weekend – Copenhagen, DK*
15 May – Bla – Oslo, NO*
16 May – Bla – Oslo, NO*
17 May – Debaser – Stockholm, SE*
18 May –
The Abyss – Gothenburg, SE**
19 May – 
Brolandingerne – Aalborg, DK**
28 May – Portals Festival – London, UK
9 June – Download Festival – Donington Park, UK
10 June – Mystic Festival – Gdansk, PL
16-20 August – Arctangent Festival – Bristol, UK

*Heavy Rock Breakfast tour w/ Boris
** Headline shows

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *