Thotcrime premiered new single and visualizer ‘This Is My Breakdown, I Get To Pick The Music’

, ,

THOTCRIME have premiered their new single and an accompanying visualizer, This Is My Breakdown, I Get To Pick The Music, via Metal Injection. This Is My Breakdown… is the third track to be taken from the cybergrind band’s upcoming second full-length, D1G1T4L_DR1FT, due out via Prosthetic Records on October 28.

Speaking on the single release, Malady Jane (guitar) comments: 

“The origin of this track was a voice memo Hayley (Sparxx – vocals) sent me where she sang the guitar riff into her phone mic – I copied down what I heard to guitar and slowly but surely the song evolved into this wild mix of chaotic mathgrind and manic, sugary happy hardcore.

“On working with Carson Pace, Malady adds: “The Callous Daoboys were one of the first bands that started getting me into heavier music, so being able to work with Carson was truly an honor. The interplay between them and Hayley lends a frantic energy to the track that makes it one of my favorites on the record.”

THOTCRIME‘s prolific output to date has seen the band generate a buzz in online music communities and garner praise from Bandcamp Daily in the publication’s profile on the burgeoning cybergrind movement at large. D1G1T14L_DR1FT, the follow up to 2020s ønyøurcømputer, sees THOTCRIME continue to gleefully abandon genre convention in favour of boundless individuality and invention. Of the 13 tracks, THOTCRIME boast features from Carson Pace of The Callous Daoboys, Katie Davies of Pupil Slicer, Aki McCullough of Dreamwell and diana starshine.

Self-produced by the band before being mixed and mastered by the group’s very own K. Salmon, the usual pitfalls and tribulations of getting a group of people into a room to write and record an album do not apply here. THOTCRIME‘s approach to crafting D1G1T4L_DR1FT is an embrace of technological advances and DIY collaboration via Discord servers, instant messengers and online community – with collaboration already playing a large part in THOTCRIME‘s growing discography thanks to remix releases of their debut album in its entirety and their 2021 Remixes effort. D1G1T4L_DR1FT is tied together aesthetically in arresting fashion thanks to digital artist Yam Lynn.

On their second long player THOTCRIME continue to shun all that is conventional whilst cohesively blending together disparate influences from 100 Gecs to The Locust, D1G1T4L_DR1FT finds the international act steadfastly embracing exultation and conquering all that stands in their way. Stop the doomscrolling, THOTCRIME are the perfect antidote.

D1G1TAL_DR1FT tracklist:
1. This Isn’t Foundation, Now Give Me Your Skin Please?
2. There Will Come Soft Rains
3. Rejection Sensitivity Dysphoria
4. trust://fall
5. 4V3R4GE_TU35D4Y.exe (ft Aki McCullough)
6. You’re Like A Black Hole, The Way You Expect My Life To Revolve Around You
7. Tweet This!
8. Broken Rib
9. Critical Codependence (ft diana starshine)
10. This Is My Breakdown, I Get To Pick The Music (ft Carson Pace)
11. Central Dogma
13. I Couldn’t End Me, So I’d Like To See You Try

Hayleyy Sparxx – Vocals
K. Salmon – Producer
Malady Jane – Guitar
Dot Homler – Drums

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *