The Rumjacks released new single "Hestia"

, , ,

“Hestia” is the title track and second single from The Rumjacks forthcoming album, out March 12th. It is a song of vengeance delivered with the force of a hurricane. In short, it’s folktale about a girl who shoots down a personified wolf in an act of defence. Draped in several levels of symbolism and metaphor, “Hestia” (named after the goddess of the home and the hearth), is a firecracker of a song, and an absolute earworm.

“Hestia”, the fifth studio album from The Rumjacks, marks a new era for the band. The album introduces new lead singer Mike Rivkees, whose songwriting skills have rejuvenated The Rumjacks collaborative spirit. “Hestia” takes the energy of traditional folk music, lights it on fire, then sprinkles it with ash. Dark, gritty, and historically aware, this is music grounded in the character of the Rebel. 

When writing “Hestia” (named after the Greek goddess of home and hearth), band members Mike Rivkees (vocals), Johnny McKelvey (bass), Gabe Whitbourne (guitar), Adam Kenny (bouzouki/mandolin), and Pietro Della Sala (drums) apply their diverse American, Australian, Italian, and Irish perspectives to create a new, globalized iteration of the Celtic punk legacy dating back to The Pogues, with the punk, ska, and hard rock sounds pulsing through their veins. The album was recorded under strict Covid-conditions in Milan, Italy where the band stayed and created this new album through August, September and October 2020.

For twelve years, The Rumjacks have written songs that you cannot help but start singing by the second chorus, even if you have never heard them before. In this short career, they have released four acclaimed studio albums and two live albums that capture their most renowned asset: their electric energy onstage. That organic energy has garnered them a far-reaching fanbase.

“Hestia” Tracklisting
01 Naysayers
02 Bullhead
03 Hestia
04 Through These Iron Sights
05 Sainted Millions
06 Tell Me What Happened
07 Rhythm of Her Name
08 Golden Death
09 Lizzie Borden
10 Light in My Shadow
11 Wonderust
12 Athens to the North
13 Motion
14 Goodnight & Make Mends

The Rumjacks online:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *