Werewolves announce new album and share lead single and music video

Australian death metal trio WEREWOLVES have today announced plans to release their fourth album, My Enemies Look and Sound Like Me, via Prosthetic Records on August 11. Alongside the album announcement, the band has shared lead single Under the Ground with an accompanying music video. In WEREWOLVES‘ own words, Under the Ground is the death metal equivalent of Tupac‘s ‘Hit ‘Em Up‘ and takes issue with metal, the bands, the fans, and themselves.

Stream Under the Ground via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order My Enemies Look and Sound Like Me here.

Speaking on the album announcement, bassist/vocalist Sam (also of The Antichrist Imperium, The Berzerker) comments:

“Here it finally is, the recording that will cement our place in the technical death metal world as some of the greatest soloists and most thought-provoking lyricists working in music today. Our ability to shape raw art from ethereal nuance is second only to our famously slow craftmanship.”

“Of course I’m fucking kidding. This album is as idiotic as the rest, if not more. CAVEMAN RIFFS. Blasting. Screaming. Bowing to a shrine with pictures of Mortician, Marduk, and Angelcorpse. This isn’t going to be the album that brings people together and catalyses world peace. Apparently it has greater emotional reach than our earlier work but we haven’t noticed that ourselves, we’re morons. I can confirm that there is more swearing on this album than all the others, it’s positively Australian-esque”.

Drummer Dave Haley (Psycroptic, Abramelin, Ruins, King, Blood Duster) and guitarist Matt Wilcock (The Antichrist Imperium, The Berzerker, Abramelin) agreed, simply stating: “PISS”.

My Enemies Look And Sound Like Me is the mature effort of a band approaching the midpoint of both their career and their lives, fine-tuning audio violence and desperate to leave nothing on the table before the hormones fade and dementia kicks in. Opener Under The Ground is an apoplectic death metal middle finger to the genre and all involved within it. Title track My Enemies Look And Sound Like Me demonstrates that the band have absolutely no intention of slowing down at all, while Destroyer Of Worlds is a slow creepfest that makes a lie of the previous sentence. Elsewhere, songs like Brace For Impact and Neanderhell demonstrate that WEREWOLVES are only getting more rabid with age – the BPM is appropriately crazed WEREWOLVES fare.

Mixing and mastering was handled, as always, by Joe Haley (Psycroptic), and the artwork is a remarkable simulacrum of modern social media discourse by long time collaborator Mitchell Nolte, and depicts two frenzied opposing groups of people massacring each other and themselves in a screaming horrified rage.

My Enemies Look and Sound Like Me tracklist:
1. Under the Ground
2. My Enemies Look and Sound Like Me
3. Bring To Me The Kill
4. Brace For Impact
5. Destroyer of Worlds
6. Neanderhell
7. I Hate Therefore I Am
8. I Knew Nothing Then and I Know Less Now
9. Do Not Hold Me Back

Upcoming WEREWOLVES tour dates:
21 July – The Bendigo Hotel – Melbourne, Australia w/ Exhumed

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *