Bedsore – Hypnagogic Hallucinations

/ 0 Comments / By :

Following their 2018 self-titled EP, the Italian death metal quartet Bedsore debuts their first full-length studio album ‘Hypnagogic Hallucinations‘ via 20 Buck Spin. This showcases the band’s technical and progressive touches. the Rome based outfit is comprised of Jacopo Gianmaria Pepe (vocals, guitars, synth), Stefano Allegretti (vocals, guitars, organ, and keyboards), Giulio Rimoli (bass guitar) and Davide Itri (drums). Generally, the Italian underground metal bands are known for their dexterity, but what Bedsore intends to bring on the debut album is a technical illustration of old school death metal. The Italian lads initiate into these territories a first glimpse of shredding solos on the atmospheric intro ‘The Gate, Disclosure’. They mix the jazzy, funky beat leads with harmonic bass guitar and some elements of cosmic rock ambiance.

The effort here lines up with bands such as Death and Nocturnus as the band clearly shows how they can manipulate different elements to work in their favor. ‘The Gate, Closure (Sarcoptes Obitus)’ begins with slow-paced riffs until the lead guitars boast a momentum. From these spacey vibes Bedsore continues to push the boundaries. The raw drumming style and blast beats are delivered through precision. It’s all about the pure technicality that makes the debut such a close replica to nineties death metal. The guitar work proves that Bedsore is a practitioner of complexity. As the band carries on, they reveal a plethora of infectious riffs. However, the lead guitar is always pushed to the front, stemmed by concentrative heavy riffs. Then comes the role of the rhythm guitars to paint the song texture with hypnotic melodies. Each instrument is balanced and shines vividly including the bass guitar. 

Hypnagogic Hallucinations’ is stretched over a wide range of creativity. The technicality is one of the traits that differentiate Bedsore from the other old school death metal bands. ‘Deathgazer‘ further uncovers the influences of Chuck Schuldiner, the vocals are raspy and throaty while the guitar department executes many crucial solos. The debut feels like a complex compound of its jazzy influences combined with an intricate guitar performance. Besides the individual technical prowess, the riffs are methodologically achieved. There is not a moment on this debut album where you won’t sense the strong similarities to Death’s ‘Human‘ era. ‘At The Mountains of Madness‘ builds on beautiful guitar chords and ambient synth. As a matter of fact, each of the seven tracks, including the intro, builds on the instrumentation.

The song drifts deep into the Lovecraftian themes of horror. Here, Bedsore shows an exceptional and intellectual take on death metal. While this allows the diversity to take its effect, the band crosses the spheres of creativity and manifests a musical dexterity. But what really outlines ‘Hypnagogic Hallucinations‘ is the breadth of its incredible riffs, although the debut is a kind of slow-paced death metal album. The tracks progress slowly. Bedsore explores these cosmic zones thanks to effective musicianship and cohesion. ‘Cauliflower Growth‘ builds on heavy riffage determined by the varied tempos. However, this song, in particular, has an ominous tone. This ominous track is structured upon the impressive work of the guitar chords and the guttural growls. The heavy rumbles of the drum beats and the focused riff-craft lay catchy hooks and memorable leads.

Bedsore‘s emphasis on atmospheric moods puts the focus on the melodious chords and breakdowns. However ,this song features some shredding solos. There is a clear insistence on technical skills as Bedsore takes many influences from other bands like Atheist and Cynic, but the Italian lads have crafted their debut by merging the progressive elements of death metal with other psychedelic aspects. Since they elaborate on unique forms of unusual death metal, many fans might lack the understanding of such a bizarre type of music. ‘Hypnagogic Hallucinations‘ is not your typical type of death album. There are a lot of pieces assembled together. The final track again proves how strange and amusing this band could be: ‘Brains on the Tarmac‘ is shaped by eerie, atmospheric chords. 

The guitars exude oddness with melodies imbuing the song texture. The nuances of aggression later become intertwined with eerie, atmospheric instrumentation. Bedsore weaves many architectural elements together, combining all their musical influences into one unsettling experience of uncanny death metal. ‘Hypnagogic Hallucinations’ is set for release on July 24 via 20 Buck Spin, recommended for fans of Death, Cynic, and Atheist.

Release Date: July 24 2020
Label: 20 Buck Spin
Track list:

  1. The Gate, Disclosure (Intro)
  2. The Gate, Closure (Sarcoptes Obitus)
  3. Deathgazer
  4. At The Mountains Of Madness
  5. Cauliflower Growth
  6. Disembowelment Of The Souls (Tabanidae)
  7. Brains on the Tarmac


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality9/10
8.2 Bedsore weaves many architectural elements together, combining all their musical influences into one unsettling experience of uncanny death metal.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *