Destruction – Born To Perish

/ 1 Comment / By :

Teutonic thrash metal legends Destruction have reached the pinnacle of their career in the mid-eighties. The band received its fame with classic albums such as Infernal Overkill, Eternal Devastation and Released from Agony. Destruction was deemed as one of the big four thrash metal bands in Germany beside Kreator, Tankard and Sodom. With 16 albums under their belt with Schmier and Mike still there as the original members in the lineup. Born to Perish is Destruction’s 17th album to date and introduces a new lineup to the band. Being one the most prolific bands in metal music today, the new album is a game changer and a new chapter in the band’s profession. The new lineup consists of Schmier on bass and vocals, Damir Eskić on lead guitar, Randy Black on drums and Mike on guitar.

Image may contain: 4 people, people standing, night and outdoor

From the opening track and the album title you can sense the energy within the band, Born to Perish kicks in full throttle and without reducing the power of the riffs. The aggressive and violent riffing sustains the trademarks of the band with Schmier‘s wicked vocals. This album feels more organized and succinct and the new songs are catchy with driven melodies and solos turning up the effect of the songs. Take for example the second track Inspired by Death where you can hear the twin guitars neatly fitted to the song structure. Truth is the band has suffered a lot to present a worthy material but the addition of the new members have brought some talents to the band. And by injecting new blood Destruction now sounds stronger and superior.

There is enough strength in the guitars department and the drums sounds tight and kinetic. And beside the flavored melodies the solos are brilliantly executed, I can’t really remember when was the last time I had enjoyed listening to Destruction. Born To Perish is definitely one of the outstanding thrash metal albums of the year and fans of modern thrash metal will find pleasure listening to the new material. The album includes some furious tracks such as Betrayal and Rotten these tracks are brought to effective action. The performance on the album is very tight and straightforward especially from the drums and the guitar department. 

Betrayal is harnessed by rapid riffing pace and lightning solos that will amaze any thrash metal fan. The modern Destruction style took a different approach to thrash metal, yet there is a solid ability within the band to create enough aggression. The modern sound of the band depends on the driven rhythm guitars as well as incorporating some captivating melodies within the tracks. There is a notable ability to address the new material with indestructible power, what is more interesting is the atonal sharp riffs that provides adequate power to the songs.

Born to perish also showcases the technical talent of the guitarist Damir Eskić. The ferocity and aggression are extended on Filthy Wealth, this mid pacing track displays the trademark style of the band. Butchered for Life is a slow tempo track and it’s where Destruction hits harder, the track begins with electrifying strings and veers into the heavy metal territory. Born To Perish has many attracting elements from the solid tendency to metal and groove. The Veterans of thrash metal have released a violent album full of entertainment and this is by far their strongest material over a decade.

The album is devoid of any fillers. It’s an act of showcasing the talent of the new members who have forged a good thrash metal record. The ferocity increases on Tyrants of the Netherworld, this is one of their most punishing tracks pummeled by the striking guitar riffs and loud drums. This track is installed with dynamic speed topped with blistering solos and vicious guitar tone. The drums impact on We Breed Evil maintains the power and the thrusting force of the guitar riffs. As mentioned the musical arrangements is what makes the overall performance so captivating. Fatal Flight is strongly built on fast riffs and the melodic hooks which are given enough emphasis.

Born To Perish sounds fresh and energetic but the signature style of Destruction still pervades. The band has been active for over four decades and the new album is still one of the band’s strongest material since The Anti-Christ and D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N. album.

Release Date: August 9th, 2019
Label: Nuclear Blast
Track list:

  1. Born To Perish
  2. Inspired by Death
  3. Betrayal
  4. Rotten
  5. Filthy Wealth
  6. Butchered for Life
  7. Tyrants of the Netherworld
  8. We Breed Evil
  9. Fatal Flight 17
  10. Ratcatcher
  11. Hellbound (Bonus Track)


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork7/10
  • Originality10/10
8.2Destruction's "Born To Perish" has many attracting elements from the solid tendency to metal and groove. The Veterans of thrash metal have released a violent album full of entertainment and this is by far their strongest material since over a decade.
1 reply
  1. peliculiar
    peliculiar says:

    Mike Sifringer is the only one who was in the band since the beginning (like Tony Iommi in Black Sabbath). Schmier is an original member of Destruction but he was absent during the nineties.


Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *