Fit For An Autopsy - Oh What The Future Holds

/ 0 Comments / By :

Fit For An Autopsy is an American deathcore band formed in 2008. In 2019 they released the deathcore masterpiece ‘The Sea Of Tragic Beasts.’ Never heard of these guys before and I was blown away by their brutal deathcore sound. Now 3 years later I am excited to talk about their latest record called ‘Oh What The Future Holds’, bringing a more sophisticated side of the deathcore genre. Let’s go and check it out.

The album kicks off with the title track ‘Oh What The Future Holds’. It starts with a nice and smooth classic intro that bursts out in a brutal deathcore sound. They sing ‘Oh What The Future Holds’ and oh how they are right, considering the state of things right now. Next up is ‘Pandora’ where you hear the evolution they made since their last record. Featuring a more mature sound that is still very much deathcore but with a bigger punch, a hook that gets stuck in your head and an amazing solo near the end.

Then we have ‘Far From Heaven’ where you can hear a big influence from the French metal band Gojira and is easily one of my favorites on this record. They prove that they can do more than just blast some deathcore through the speakers… and this comes from a real deathcore fanatic. That is what I mean with the more mature sound, they continue to evolve and show that deathcore is more than just pummeling us with some extremely heavy sounds.

With ‘In Shadows’ in turn, Fit For An Autopsy brings out the true deathcore band, so fans don’t need to worry that they sworn off classic deathcore completely. It really is that kick in the face we all expect from them, with some slight adjustments maybe, but still brutal deathcore. ‘Two Towers’ has again that Gojira stamp without stealing or copying their sound, making it rather their own and taking a spin on that Gojira sound we all know and love.

‘A Higher Level Of Hate’ brings back that sophisticated deathcore sound that sounds refreshing and brutal at the same time. They had the time to write an absolute masterpiece. With ‘Collateral Damage‘ we take it up a notch again with some brutal deathcore. It’s something these guys can turn on like it’s nothing and it perfectly blends in with the other songs into one giant piece of greatness. ‘Savages’ just builds up where their previous song ended: deathcore mixed with their most evolved sound, just taken up to an even higher level.

With two songs left, I’m stunned the album is already almost over never having had any thoughts of boredom. There’s ‘Conditional Healing’, which is again another piece of the masterpiece puzzle. Every song has it’s unique stamp of pure greatness. And we end with the lengthy ‘The Man That I Was Not’ that basically combines everything they did before on this record into one epic track. Already looking forward what they are going to do next.

Release Date: January 14th, 2022
Label: Nuclear Blast

  1. Oh What The Future Holds
  2. Pandora
  3. Far From Heaven
  4. In Shadows
  5. Two Towers
  6. A Higher Level Of Hate
  7. Collateral Damage
  8. Savages
  9. Conditional Healing
  10. The Man That I Was Not


  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production9/10
  • Artwork 9/10
  • Originality 8/10
9.2Fit For An Autopsy has delivered us another deathcore masterpiece that lifts their music to a whole other new level. 2022 started off with a band looking forward to all the rest that the year will bring.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *