Kataklysm – Unconquered

/ 0 Comments / By :

Kataklysm is a Canadian melodic death metal band formed in 1991. Next year they will celebrate their 30th anniversary so we’re all expecting something special there. For their 29th year they suprised us with a new album called ‘Unconquered.’

After a short intro ‘The Killshot’ kicks off with a freaking bang. From the first note they strike you hear the sound of Kataklysm with the pounding drums and the destroying riffs, followed by the master of Kataklysm Maurizio Lacono.

‘Cut Me Down’ goes further where ‘The Killshot’ ended with a somehow catchy chorus. You have to hear it to believe it but it’s 100% Kataklysm. ‘Underneath The Scars’ takes it up a notch with at the end the “earthquake double bass” like they call it.

‘Focused To Destroy, The Way Back Home’ and Stitches’ are typical Kataklysm songs. What you see, is what you get, no compromise. On ‘Defiant’ we hear the brutal death metal, the style they played in the very beginning and they still got it.

‘Icarus Falling’ is something special where they use a piano. A little experiment never hurt anyone. We end this album with ‘When It’s Over’ a slower song to end all this brutality after which we just hit play to hear this album one more time.

Release Date: September 25th, 2020
Label: Nuclear Blast

  1. The Killshot
  2. Cut Me Down
  3. Underneath The Scars
  4. Focused To Destroy You
  5. The Way Back Home
  6. Stitches
  7. Defiant
  8. Icarus Falling
  9. When It’s Over


  • Music9/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix8/10
  • Artwork/Packaging9/10
  • Originality7/10
8.2There are no suprises on this album but they don't need it. It's again a strong melodic piece of art.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *