Massacre – Resurgence

/ 0 Comments / By :

Florida-based death metal band Massacre has finally returned from the beyond, originally formed in 1984 by bassist Mike Borders and vocalist Kam Lee. Since the early years of initiation, Massacre went through multiple lineup changes and has had several members from bands such as Death, Obituary, Six Feet Under and so on. Being one of the legendary acts to hail from Tampa Florida, Massacre debuted its first full-length album “From Beyond” in 1991, which was an instant classic. The release of the fourth album “Resurgence” via Nuclear Blast Records on October 22nd, 2021 arguably represents a turning point in the game. The original members have recruited qualified musicians such as guitarist/keyboardist Jonny Pettersson, drummer Brynjar Helgetun, lead guitarist Scott Fairfax, and guitarist Rogga Johansson.

What makes “Resurgence” so powerful is that it is rooted in the straightforward sound of death metal. The opening riff of the “Eldritch Prophecy” revamps the old school tradition of the band. From the brutal and iconic growls of vocalist Kam Lee, who has created a signature sound of his own to the striking guitars that are seemingly charged by solid riffing structure. While the newly recruited members whet the sharp edge of their skills, the lead guitars provide some crucial moments full of thrilling effects. The powerful buzz of the bass guitars works in conjunction with the hammering drums, the full force of grooving tempos is energetic and violent! Massacre’s fourth album presents a real treat for the fans who had been waiting for the band to revive its classic raw sound.

Ruins of R’lyeh” begins brutally with monstrous bludgeoning riffs which are followed by low-pitched growls. While the sound here recalls the prosperous years of the debut album, “Resurgence” is energized by the formidable aggression of the guitars that provide proper death metal riffs and they are damned infectious and full of hooks. The album was recorded in two different studios and mastered by none other than Dan Swanö (ex-Edge of Sanity, ex-Bloodbath). The tracks are furious and brutal to the core, the drums are remarkably organic eschewing blast beats and all the modern clichés.

Massacre’s approach to old school death metal style establishes a new era for the band with cutting-edged riffs that build a new identity. There is plenty of room for the guitars to showcase the technical dexterity on “The Innsmouth Strain”. Lyrically “Resurgence” is influenced by the fictional horror works of H.P. Lovecraft and the lead guitars imbue an extraterrestrial vibe to the songs. The key aspect of the album is the rapid pace of the drums that maintain the strength, while the triple guitars are the backbone in this department. Songs like “The Whisperer In The Darkness” put so much weight on the bulky riffs, the lead guitars are as vibrant displaying dexterous qualities. There’s definitely no question that “Resurgence” remains true to the band’s ultra-heaviness, Kam Lee’s growling vocals sound quite vicious and they sound as perfect as on the debut album.

The drums unleash brutal attacks in full force, sending shock waves through the violent riffs. The rhythm guitars create an eerie atmosphere on “Book Of The Dead” with the powerful growling effects of the vocals. Throughout the album, Massacre sets up a raw, gritty, and semi-technical sound where almost every track repeats the bold organic formula. Musically Kam Lee and Mike Borders sought to mold the signature sound of the band, with the experience of Jonny Pettersson, Rogga Johansson, and Scott Fairfax adding remarkable features to the songwriting, resulting in the band’s best outcome since the debut. “Into The Far Off Void” is inspirited by the excellent musicianship, I like how the keyboards add a spacey vibe to this song.

Servants Of Discord” and “Fate Of The Elder Gods” are saturated by power chords and drench reverb vocals. It’s astonishing how the new members display a coherent sound as if they have been playing in the band forever. From the frequent lightning guitar solos, buzzing bass guitars, and stomping riffs, all seem to intermingle flawlessly for Massacre to bring forth the essence of old school death metal. “Spawn of the Succubus” is powered by the triple bulldozing riffage while the drums are unrelenting brutal, simple and in your face. The closing track “Return of the Corpse Grinder” is the highlight of the superb performance. Massacre’s fourth album is an old-school slab of death metal, finally, this is a top-tier record professionally written by some of the most iconic figures in the modern history of death metal! 

Release Date: October 22nd, 2021
Label: Nuclear Blast Records

  1. Eldritch Prophecy
  2. Ruins Of R’lyeh
  3. The Innsmouth Strain
  4. The Whisperer In Darkness
  5. Book Of The Dead
  6. Into The Far Off Void
  7. Servants Of Discord
  8. Fate Of The Elder Gods
  9. Spawn Of The Succubus
  10. Return Of The Corpse Grinder


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals/Lyrics9/10
  • Production10/10
  • Artwork7/10
  • Originality10/10
9Massacre’s fourth album is a brutal old-school slab of death metal, finally, this is a top-tier record professionally written by some of the most iconic figures in the modern history of death metal!
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *