Andorran prog metallers PERSEFONE reveal new single “Architecture of the I” and lyric video


Extreme progressive metal maestros PERSEFONE have returned with the next single from their upcoming album, metanoia, entering the last round before its long-awaited release this Friday. The third single, “Architecture of the I”, features grim growling, sharp screams and technically precise riffing – creating dark sound walls that alternate with calmer atmospheric parts underlined with electronic elements – once again showcasing the band’s variety in just one epic song! Underlining this opus of sound is a mesmerizing visualizer video that enters another universe – just a sneak peak of what’s to come with their new album metanoia.

PERSEFONE on “Architecture of the I”:

“‘Architecture of the I’ represents one of the most progressive songs on metanoia. On this track, we really let the song come alive as we were writing, and because of that, the listener will find in there a huge dynamic range from one of the most fast and heavy riffs in the whole album, to some of the most introspective passages.

This song has been a challenge for us to write and perform, and we are sure that it will also present a challenge for the listener to keep track with its particular pace and structure. Now it’s up to you to find the purpose of all those notes within the album.

The stunning video was created by our guitar player Filipe and his partner K (DeadFlag Studios and Gráfica de Ferro).”

PERSEFONE set a new standard in extreme progressive metal with their latest opus, metanoia!

PERSEFONE is known for their brand of rich soundscapes and technically precise work, setting new standards in modern extreme progressive metal. Founded in 2001, PERSEFONE has released five studio albums, each showcasing the band’s myriad of musical principles: high technicality, distinct melodies, plenty of head-turning riffs and musical acrobatics. The band has toured worldwide with notable acts like Obituary and Leprous, has hit stages at important festivals such as Wacken Open Air, Metal Days, Brutal Assault, ProgPower and 70,000 Tons of Metal, and is now set to release their new album, metanoia!

Featuring collaborations with standout artists like Steffen Kummerer (Obscura, Thulcandra), Einar Solberg (Leprous), Angel Vivaldi and Merethe Soltvedt (Two Steps From Hell), metanoia exploits the full potential of contrasts in every song, with each track representing a story evolving from beginning to end and constantly growing in strength – redefining typical musical boundaries. Mixed by David Castillo (Leprous, Soen, Opeth) and mastered by Tony Lindgren (Enslaved, Ihsahn, Sepultura), the new full-length stretches over 10 songs, each appearing to glide seamlessly from one to the next.

metanoia sets off with the opulent opener “Katabasis”, drawing dramatic, cinematic soundscapes mixed with electronic influences. The soft, clear vocals of Miguel Espinosa alternate with sharp growls and pierce through constantly changing riffs. PERSEFONE balances soft passages with intense walls of sound on tracks like “Aware of Being Watched” – in which clean vocals and jazzy sections alternate with intense riffing carried by dense drumming – while solid, rich sound takes on orchestral dimensions on songs such as “Leap of Faith”. Vivid and dynamic instrumentation, tempo and rhythm make up the intense ride “Merkabah”, showcasing the band’s hardest yet most vulnerable sides as screams and blast beats are followed by soft instrumentation – spanning the song’s intensity to its maximum. A special surprise is the 11-minute masterpiece “Consciousness Pt III”, which continues a series of songs from the band’s fourth album Spiritual Migration (2013). The album closes with another opulent set of songs, “Anabasis Part I”, “Anabasis Part II” and “Anabasis Part III”. “Anabasis Part I” starts off with calm, dreamy piano sounds, drifting over to the intense “Anabasis Part II” and leading seamlessly into “Anabasis Part III”, gently closing the album with a cinematic outro.

PERSEFONE about the new album:

“metanoia is the next step in our personal pursuit for existential growth through music. This album is a call for a deep change, a call for an inner journey through fear and pain, a call for a leap into a meaningful and rooted place. Making this album has forced us to face many musical and personal hurdles and fears, and the result of that confrontation lives within all the notes and words captured on this new chapter in our journey.  May you will find meaning in all this musical chaos.”

Save your copy of metanoia NOW!

metanoia tracklist:
1. Metanoia ft. Einar Solberg
2. Katabasis
3. Architecture of the I
4. Leap of Faith
5. Aware of Being Watched
6. Merkabah
7. Consciousness Part III
8. Anabasis Part I
9. Anabasis Part II ft. Steffen Kummerer, Angel Vivaldi und Merethe Soltvedt
10. Anabasis Part III

metanoia will be available in the following formats:

  • Digipack
  • 2LP Gatefold BLACK
  • 2LP Gatefold CLEAR (incl. Slipmat & Logopatch) – SOLD OUT!
  • 2LP Gatefold Marbled White & Black
  • Digipack & Shirt Bundle
  • Digital Full Length Album

Marc Martins – vocals
Miguel “Moe” Espinosa – keyboards and vocals
Carlos Lozano – guitar
Filipe Baldaia – guitar
Toni Mestre – bass
Sergi “ Bobby” Verdeguer – drums

Napalm Records

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *