Brazilian Death Metal Unit THE TROOPS OF DOOM premiered video/single “The Confessional”


Brazilian death metal unit THE TROOPS OF DOOM unleashed their newest single, The Confessional.” The track comes off the band’s The Rise Of Heresy debut EP, set for release October 9th via Nuclear Blast‘s digital subsidiary, Blood Blast Distribution.

THE TROOPS OF DOOM features guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz, current member of The Mist as well as a former member of Sepultura‘s original lineup playing author and co-author to the classic albums Bestial Devastation and Morbid Visions and having also collaborated on some of Schizophrenia‘s compositions. Joining Guedz is bassist/vocalist Alex Kafer (Enterro, Explicit Hate, ex-Necromancer), drummer Alexandre Oliveira (Southern Blacklist, Raising Conviction), and guitarist Marcelo Vasco (Patria, Mysteriis, acclaimed graphic artist for the legendary likes of Slayer, Kreator, Machine Head, Soulfly, and Hatebreed). THE TROOPS OF DOOM‘s goal is to revisit the essence of ’80s style death metal, exploring a more primitive sound that takes listeners back to that era, while remaining fresh and genuine.  

Notes Guedz of “The Confessional,”

“This song is definitely my favorite on the EP! It means a lot to me because it was something I always wanted to do during the early days of Sepultura. It highlights a denser and heavier approach, influenced by one of my favorite metal bands — the legendary Celtic Frost — with more ponderous vocals, mid-tempo riffs… it’s all mixed with other old inspirations that come from bands like Slayer, Voivod, and Kreator, not to mention our very own and peculiar way of playing, created by Sepultura itself. It is a track that synthesizes a very interesting balance in our debut work, along with other more speed and aggressive songs. That’s why we chosen ‘The Confessional’ as our second single. I hope people can dig it as much as we do.”  

Adds Decibel,

Guedz and fellow guitarist Marcelo Vasco dole out mean, mid-paced death metal that cycles between foreboding and downright groovy, making sure things continue to move along; the rhythm section of bassist/vocalist Alex Kafer and drummer Alexandre Oliveira really drives the point home-when the grooves hit, it’s hard not to bang your head.”

View the band’s previously released lyric video for first single, “Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea,” at THIS LOCATION.

The Rise Of Heresy, which features four original songs and two cover versions of Sepultura classics, “Bestial Devastation” and “Troops Of Doom,” was mastered by Øystein G. Brun (Borknagar) at Crosound Studio in Norway.  

The Rise Of Heresy will be released digitally. For preorders, visit THIS LOCATION.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *