CROWBAR to release ‘Zero And Below’ via MNRK Heavy; New single/video “Chemical Godz” out now


New Orleans, Louisiana sludge metal pioneers CROWBAR will release their long awaited new full-length, Zero And Below, March 4th, 2022 via MNRK Heavy! In celebration, today the band is pleased to unveil the record’s artwork, tracklisting, and first single/video, “Chemical Godz,”.

CROWBAR songs are unapologetic emotional outpourings, with a bare-knuckle resolve alongside its soul-searching vulnerability, reliably delivered with crushing heaviness. Zero And Below, which cements the band’s dense catalog exactly one dozen studio albums deep, is the most unforgivably doomy CROWBAR record since their 1998 landmark effort, Odd Fellows Rest.

Produced, mixed, and mastered by Duane Simoneaux at OCD Recording And Production in Metairie, Louisiana, Zero And Below is reverently old-school, counterbalanced by a resonant melodicism that’s stunningly mature. Songs like “Chemical Godz,” “Bleeding From Every Hole,” and “It’s Always Worth The Gain” demonstrate what CROWBAR does better than any other band: powerful, evocative, and crushingly heavy music. Celebrating a recent 30th anniversary, CROWBAR is led by one of the most beloved figures in heavy metal, riff overlord Kirk Windstein, whose menacing bellow and smooth drawl put resilient, unrepentant strength behind even the most somber odes to suffering.

Comments Windstein of first single, “Chemical Godz,”

“We are all so excited to release the song and video for ‘Chemical Godz!’ It’s been nearly two years since the album was completed. It was such a sad time for so many people going through the Covid-19 epidemic and we felt it wasn’t a good time to release any new material. Get ready because the heavy is coming! We hope y’all enjoy the song and video. Stay safe out there!” 

Zero And Below will be available on CD, LP, cassette, and digitally. Find preorders at THIS LOCATION

Zero And Below Track Listing: 
1. The Fear That Binds You  
2. Her Evil Is Sacred 
3. Confess To Nothing 
4. Chemical Godz
5. Denial Of The Truth 
6. Bleeding From Every Hole 
7. It’s Always Worth The Gain 
8. Crush Negativity 
9. Reanimating A Lie 
10. Zero And Below 

In 2020, CROWBAR’s wielder of the sludge sledgehammer and unmistakable earthmoving bellow indulged his mellower and more AOR-loving side with a debut solo album, Dream In Motion. The Dark Lord of the Southern Riff stretched his creative wings with new emotional depth and sonic texture that strengthened, rather than tarnished, the metal monolith’s career legacy. Windstein made the solo album between tours and holidays over two years. By contrast, CROWBAR’s twelfth album was handled the more traditional way, with the band (now officially including bassist Shane Wesley) getting together to hammer out the new songs. Each of them contributed as songwriters before going back in the studio with Simoneaux to commit Zero And Below’s ten crushing tracks to history.

CROWBAR works their heavy magic all over again on Zero And Below. As long-running European tastemaker publication Metal Hammer once astutely observed, CROWBAR “exist in a genre of one.”

Kirk Windstein – vocals/guitar
Matt Brunson – guitar
Shane Wesley – bass
Tommy Buckley – drums


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.