Finnish Black Metal ONDFØDT Team Up With FINNTROLL’s Mathias Lillmåns To Find Out “Where Death Roams”

On May 26th Finnish black metal legion Ondfødt will release the band’s brand-new album “Det Österbottniska Mörkret”, which will see the light of day via Black Lion Records. Following the release of the first two singles “Dödsrejson” and “Tvelatan”, the band gave another intense and captivating glimpse into the upcoming album with the track “Where Death Roams”. The song comes with a brand new lyric video and is accompanied by none other than Mathias “Vreth” Lillmåns of Finntroll on guest vocals. 

Ondfødt comments

In these lyrics, I wanted to capture the feeling, that I remember from childhood, when I walked too far into the woods past the point which I recognized. Where the forest got old, dark, dense and crooked.

The feeling of having lost your sense of direction and having the unnerving feeling that trees are closing in on you. I combined that feeling with legends of beasts and with an ancient spell to protect against evil.

Ondfødt‘s forthcoming album “Det Österbottniska Mörkret” is very dark both lyrically and musically along with vocals in Finnish and English. The album was written in 2022 by vocalist/guitarist and band founder Owe Inborr and honed by all the members to perfection before hitting the studio in September 2022 at Wolfthrone Studios where it was also mixed and mastered. Guest contributions also include Jacob Björnfot (KVAEN) and Mathias “Vreth” Lillmåns.

Inspired by their stomping ground in Ostrobothnia, a region in Western Finland where the band was founded in 2013, they are fond of their home and the dark folk tales they have embraced since childhood.

The band comments:

“This album is about exploring the darkest side of Ostrobothnia, both lyrically and sonically. If you are from Ostrobothnia you will understand the endless darkness during winter when the sun is barely going above the horizon. You will also understand the dark history of the witch hunt in this part of Finnish history. “Det Österbottniska Mörkret” is about all of that and going even deeper to the roots of all the evil spirits that live in the area. This album’s focus is to take you through the dark history of murders and the darkest side of people driven by religion. And as well as the urban legends of the spirits and the evil creations that live in the endless forests of Ostrobothnia. And finally, the record takes you through death itself, for example, in the song “Dödsrejson”. ‘You feel the life is slowly fading, everything turns cold, You close your eyes and let go, soon you’ll be home again’.”

Track Listing:​
1 – Det Österbottniska Mörkret – 2:10
2 – Tvetalan – 3:30
3 – Furstins Tid – 3:59
4 – Tå Do Dör – 3:59
5 – Where Death Roams – 3:39
6 – Falskhejtins Folk – 4:55
7 – Själavandring – 4:15
8 – Höstfruktan – 4:31
9 – Dödsrejson – 7:11
10 – Tå Livi Bleknar – 2:05
Album Length: 40:18

“Det Österbottniska Mörkret” is due out on May 26, 2023, via Black Lion Records and is available for pre-order at the following links:

Digital –
Limited Edition – Vinyl (Red, Black), Cassette, CD, Digital:

Ondfødt are:
Owe Inborr – Vocals, Guitar
Dario Kåll – Guitar
Joel Notkonen – Bass
Tommi Tuhkala – Drums

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *