Helfró drop blistering new track; unveil album details

Icelandic black metal band Helfró are premiering the first song of their self titled debut album, which will be released on Season of Mist Underground Activists on April 24. You can watch the music video for the song ‘Afeitrun‘ right below. It was filmed in the beautiful, frozen landscapes of Iceland by Void Revelations.

HELFRÓ comment:

We’re thrilled to present ‘Afeitrun‘, an odyssey into the boundless and bare wastelands of cold and despair.

Written by Ragnar and arranged by Símon, a debut album has been recorded with unforgiving precision and profound musicianship. It is meant to channel the hopeless and empty feelings that have been concentrated from the frozen wastelands from which the band emerges.

Shrilling guitarwork and unforgiving blast beats weave together a soundscape that rarely leaves room for thought. It is an aural attack, seducing the listener to the barren and desolate black sands where the realization of futility and loneliness sets in heavier than anywhere else.

The band members, veterans in extreme music, have created this project as an audio representation of the endless arctic darkness, and with pride present the self titled first offering: ‘Helfró

1. Afeitrun (05:40)
2. Ávöxtur af rotnu tré    (04:19)
3. Eldhjarta (03:53)
4. Þrátt fyrir brennandi vilja (04:17)
5. Þegn hinna stundlegu harma (03:49)
6. Hin forboðna alsæla (04:28)
7. Katrín (05:20)
8. Musteri agans (04:50)

Pre-orders are available now. Order your copy here.


Wim is an avid enthusiast of any form of extreme music that ranges from ridiculously profound to profoundly ridiculous.

    One thought on “Helfró drop blistering new track; unveil album details

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *