Northern Genocide released new single ‘Necropolis’, featuring Tommy Tuovinen from MyGrain!


Finnish modern melodic metal band Northern Genocide is set to release their second studio album The Point of No Return via Inverse Records in 2024. 

The second single Necropolis which features Tommy Tuovinen from MyGrain is released today and an epic lyric video is available here:

Music video of the first single, Harbingers of Genocide, is available here: 

Comments from the band: 

“Necropolis is a powerful song about mankind’s vulnerability and decay during epidemics and war. A beautiful nocturnal sky and the heat of the Sun are only symbols of despair when all else is lost. The guest vocals by Tommy from the mighty MyGrain elevates the epicness of the song to an unprecedented level. In the dark world it is still possible to find salvation in peace of mind.”

LISTEN Necropolis on streaming services: 

Northern Genocide was established in 2010 in Helsinki, Finland. It all started with a meeting of old high school friends, guitar player Pyry Pohjanpalo and producer Rainer Pekkinen, after Pyry had discovered Rainer‘s interest in programming and computer music. They both had a history of playing in various metal bands, but now they wanted to try something different by bringing electronic influences to metal. The very same year they started recording demos in their home studio.

In 2012 a crew was put together for gigs and new demos. In December 2013 the band began recording a new 3-track demo. After some changes to the initial line-up of the band, the demo was recorded with Markku Tuuri in drums, Toni Jokiranta in bass, Pyry in guitars and Tommi Salonen as vocalist. The demo “Atlantis” was finished in October 2014. Shortly after work began towards a 5-track EP “Planet Asylum” which was released in 2015.

2019 the debut album “Genesis vol. 666” was released through Inverse Records. The release was a success, and the only song written in Finnish, called Ikiruoste, proved to be a guiding star of the album. The style of NG‘s music had already started to evolve away from the industrial metal influenced sound towards more modern melodic metal. Genesis, Vol. 666 album recently reached 1 Million streams on Spotify.

In 2020 began the work towards releasing another full length album. During the long cold winter a few band members moved aside, resulting in Jussi Pulliainen taking the 2nd guitar role and Arto Viitanen picking up the bass guitar. An epic discovery was Leo Korhonen to play the drums. With just 1 month of practice he mastered his parts ready to be recorded for the album.

The new album “The Point of No Return” was finally finished in the summer of 2023. The process of making the new album was long but it surely paid off. This time no compromises were accepted in the production process and the album surely presents the best of NG to date. The new ideas and the combined effort of the whole band resulted in a solid, banging and rich album. The album picks up where “Genesis vol. 666” left off featuring even more aggressive guitar riffs and massive orchestrations. The contribution from various featuring vocalists (Stephanie Mazor, Tommy Tuovinen) and instrumentalists adds depth to the songs throughout the album. Lyrics written by Tommi criticize world overpopulation, corruption, abuse of power and describe the dark side of the human mind.

The album will be released in early 2024 through Inverse Records.

Vocals – Tommi Salonen
Lead guitar – Pyry Pohjanpalo
Rhythm guitar – Jussi Pulliainen
Bass – Arto Viitanen
Drums – Leo Korhonen
Producer – Rainer Pekkinen

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *