Southern Lord to issue “Undercurrent” by Japanese blackened hardcore outfit Friendship in June

, , ,

Japan’s FRIENDSHIP returns with their merciless new album, Undercurrent, set for vinyl release through Southern Lord on June 14th. Following its CD release through Daymare Recordings earlier in the year, preorders for the LP version have been posted and several tracks from the album are available for streaming. 

FRIENDSHIP offers vile, antagonistic, and visionary blackened, sludge-tone hardcore, focused on delivering maximum auditory torture, with the blasting directives of Full Of Hell, Nails, and Infest, backed with the oppressive tonal amplification of Sleep, Coffins, or Iron Monkey. The band is now revered as one of the heaviest modern acts in Japan. 

Their second LP, Undercurrent showcases FRIENDSHIP‘s hybrid of ultra-heavy doom sludge/powerviolence as audible torture. With a more technical and precise attack, and a brighter and sharper tone than the preceding Hatred LP, all tracking, mixing, and mastering duties for Undercurrent were handled in Tokyo throughout 2018. The resulting album strikes hard with ten relentless tracks delivered in just over twenty-two minutes.

Just like with the Hatred LP, Daymare Recordings handles the release of FRIENDSHIP‘s Undercurrent digitally and on CD, and now Southern Lord delivers the vinyl on Friday, June 14th. Find preorders at Bandcamp HERE and find merch options and bundles at the Southern Lord US webshop HERE and Euro shop HERE.

Undercurrent Track Listing:
1. Demise
2. Vertigo
3. Punishment
4. Lack
5. Abandon
6. Fiend
7. Plague
8. Garbage
9. Wrecker
10. Hatred

Watch for FRIENDSHIP tour dates and more to be posted over the months ahead.

More info:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *