YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS escapes the “Elephants’ Dance” – New single and lyric video OUT NOW!!!


Ye Banished Privateers reclaim their rebellious freedom with the brand-new lyric video for “Elephants’ Dance”!

Batten down the hatches! The Swedish pirate crew strikes again with the second single from their upcoming album, Hostis Humani Generis – and this time, it’s either sail or die! Accompanied by a (quite literally) bloody atmospheric lyric video, “Elephants’ Dance” depicts struggles of the free-spirited sailors, trapped between their brutal independence and the authorities, imprisoning them in the endless maze of laws and decrees.

Led through a blood-stained map, the viewer, like the pirates themselves, faces the same challenges that await the crew in “Elephants’ Dance”. As death threatens them from both sides of this ongoing conflict, the wild and free “children of the sea” choose the side people of Nassau, their long-time safe haven on Bahamas, over the power of the Crown. Throwing all the rules overboard and breaking free from steady land, YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS find their way in the storm, setting course for the next adventure.

Crude, unmistakably folky, and honest to the bone – “Elephants’ Dance” is not only a worthy representative of the upcoming album, but the next pirate anthem of the group itself!

We are born of the salt, we are children of the sea
We don’t bend our knees to no king or country

YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS on “Elephants’ Dance”:

“According to an old African saying, when the elephants dance – it’s the grass that gets trampled.

British sailors bled for Queen Anne during the war of the Spanish Succession, was dismissed by King George after the treaty of Utrecht, only to be drafted as cannon fodder again during the War of the Quadruple Alliance.

With “Elephants’ Dance” we tell the story of those sailors who had enough and went on the account in the self-proclaimed pirate colony of Nassau. There, Governor Woodes Rogers landed in 1718 with an offer and an ultimatum: Lay down your arms and become a law obiding British citizen again, and all your crimes will be pardoned. Refuse, and you shall be hunted down and stand trial for piracy.”

Watch the new lyric video “Elephants’ Dance” here:

Pre-Order Hostis Humani Generis HERE:

YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS on Hostis Humani Generis:

It is with great pride that we present to you our fourth full length album – Hostis Humani Generis! Over the course of 13 songs (well, 15 if you get the deluxe box) we tell the immersive story of a delinquent pirate crew, the downfall of the pirate republic of Nassau, and the end of the Golden Age of Piracy. We are immensely happy that the time has finally come to share this with you all, and we really hope you like it as much as we do!”

Hostis Humani Generis tracklist:

01 – No Prey, No Pay
02 – Hush Now My Child
03 – Blame the Brits
04 – Capstan Shanty
05 – Elephants’ Dance
06 – Swords to Plowshares
07 – Flintlock
08 – Parting Song
09 – Rowing With One Hand
10 – A-Swinging We Must Go
11 – They are Marching Down on High Street
12 – Death of Bellows
13 – Why the Big Whales Sing

Bonus Tracks (Deluxe Box only)
01 – Master of My Fate
02 – ‘Sawbone’s Stew

Hostis Humani Generis will be available in the following formats:

  • 1 CD Jewel Case
  • LP Gatefold BLACK
  • Deluxe Box – Wooden Box limited to 300 units including Jewel Case CD, 7″ Black E.P. with two exclusive tracks, Bandana & Keychain (Bottle Opener)
  • Digital Album

Anders ”Nobility” Nyberg – cembalo, pump organ and miniature piano
Anton “Quinton Taljenblock” Teljebäck – viola pomposa, fiddle, mandoline, cable cutting crashes and main chopper of the sloppy beats
Björn ”Bellows” Malmros – squeeze box, hurdy gurdy and voices of madness
Eva ”the Navigator” Maaherra Lövheim – violin, nyckelharpa and vocals
Frida “Freebird af Wærmaland” Granström – violin, viola and vocals
Hampus “Monkey Boy” Holm – the big drum and other floggables
Louise “Happy Lou” Gillman – feisty fiddle
Ina ”Battery” Molin cajon, marimba, pompous percussions and all things beatable
Jens ”Wan Chou Zhong” Tzan Choong obnoxious stringdrum, wee guitar, huge oriental fruit thing with strings and Chinese harpy harpy – aka Banjo/Guitalele/Sitar/Guzheng
Jim ”Silent Jim” Sundström mandolino, guitarra, irish tenor banjo, false chord-posing, wishful singing, wrong stage-whistle and mould infested clothing
Jonas “Hogeye McGinn” Nilsson –  rusty old 5-string
Magda “Magda Malvina Märlprim” Andersson – blood stained lute guitar and cherry vocals
Martin “Scurvy Ben” Gavelin – cajon, percussions and vocals
Nick “Meat Stick Nick” Bohman-Ernhill – ukulele bass, double bass and bass trombone
Peter “Quartermaster Blackpowder Pyte” Mollwing – crude singing, sentimental lyrics, desecration of primary sources and debatable Brittish accent
Richard ”Old Red” Larsson them thick and them thin strings
Sara “Landmark” Lundmarkpercussion and marching drum
Stina “Filthylocks” Hakevioloncell and fipple pipes
William ”Shameless Will” Hallinvocals, vanity, profanity, coin snatching and coat turning
Hampus “Bojtikken” Larssontight noose vocals and scrap percussion  

06. – 08.12.19 DE – Dortmund / PLWM Christmas Market 2019
14. – 16.12.19 DE – Wacken / Wacken Winter Nights 2020

More information and news on YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS:
Napalm Records

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *