Dagoba – By Night

/ 0 Comments / By :

DAGOBA, the French four-piece modern metal outfit founded in 2003 and one of the pride pieces of the French metal scene, will release their new full-length album ‘By Night’ on Feb 18, 2022. With a blend of metal, synth electronic elements and neck breaking grooves, they made themselves a well-known name in the metal scene quickly. Relentless touring for years and sharing stage with prominent acts like Metallica, Machine Head and others, gave them quite a reputation. With their current line-up of Shawter (Vocals / Machines), Richard De Mello (Guitar), Kawa (Bass) and Theo Gendron (Drums) the band delivered their most ambitious material with the potential to lift DAGOBA to a new level.

DAGOBA (photo by Morgane Khouni)

‘By Night’ starts off with an electronic intro that bursts into the previously released anthem ‘The Hunt’, featuring clean, melodic passages alternating with intense breakdowns and underlined with electronic elements. This mixture leads to the same catchy delivery showcased on the dramatic track ‘Bellflower Drive’ – with an extremely catchy bass line (the authors favorite track of the album due to THIS bass line) – and the melodic ‘City Lights’. DAGOBA‘s tracks are bursting with dominant drum flourishes that oscillate between double bass and blast beats, prominently displayed on tracks such as ‘The Last Crossing’ and ‘Sunfall’. Despite the ever-pushing and driving beats and melodies, the band leaves room for calmer passages, heard on interlude ‘Break’ and standout track ‘On The Run’ – the latter beginning with female vocals that gradually build up into a kind of hymn-like song, fitting in perfectly into the ‘By Night’ track listing. The album is closed by another electronic piece that’ll let you some time to calm down again after driving you through 9 power-songs. Being the 3rd instrumental electronic track it gives a clear sense of coherence and an almost cinematic vibe.

The full-length is perfectly produced an mixed. All songs are spreading power and drive – even with some slower passages. ‘By Night’ is really a beast of a modern metal album – fantastic grooves, voluminous walls of sound, great and neatly blended-in electronic sounds, evil growls, clean vocals, infectious melodic choruses and a variety of different influences of a fine selection of genres – DAGOBA is balancing all this in a perfect manner without ever loosing their style. This is a stunning piece of music!

Release Date: Feb 18, 2022
Label: Napalm Records
Track List:

  1. Neons
  2. The Hunt
  3. Sunfall
  4. Bellflower Drive
  5. On The Run
  6. Break
  7. City Lights
  8. Nightclub
  9. Summer’s Gone
  10. The Last Crossing
  11. Stellar



  • Music10/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals10/10
  • Production/Mix10/10
  • Cover Artwork10/10
  • Originality10/10
10Full blown 10 scores - this album is a must have! Absolutely stunning. Modern metal at its best and highly recommended. Perfectly mixed and produced. No drop-out songs, great vocals, driving bass lines, awesome riffs and electronic sound. Crank up the volume to the max and let it blast through your ears.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *