Mānbryne – Heilsweg: O Udręce Ciała I Tułaczce Duszy

/ 0 Comments / By :

Polish black metal outfit Mānbryne has risen to stardom with their first full length album “Heilsweg: O Udręce Ciała I Tułaczce Duszy”. The lineup includes renowned musicians of the Polish underground scene such as vocalist S. (Blaze of Perdition), guitarist/bassist Wyrd (Blaze of Perdition live), drummer Priest (Massemord, Odraza, Voidhanger), and guitarist Renz. The debut album is a contender for one of the strongest albums of the year 2021. The stellar performance of the vocalist Sonneillon, who brings a sense of creativity boasting an animated spirit of dynamism. With the guitars being driven by soaring leads and an emotive rhythm section, Mānbryne brings a unique and memorable concept for black metal. Those who have listened to the latest album of Blaze of PerditionThe Harrowing Hearts” will find this release rather appealing in style and direction. 

Heilsweg: O Udręce Ciała I Tułaczce Duszy” profoundly explores the modern aspects of black metal, proving that the Polish underground metal scene still remains as creative as it has ever been. From the melancholic sense of the vocals offering a rather theatrical vocal performance, the melodies fit the tone of the music. The songs carry on with such quality that would only bring bands like Mgła to mind. The opening track “Pustka, którą znam” resonates with catchy melodies conveyed by the dual guitars. There are many reasons why the album stands out. First and foremost is that the musicians have been sharpening their craft for some time. While still drawing some influences from bands like Mgła and Blaze of Perdition they have reformed the sonic structures.

On this full-length album, Mānbryne blends something unique and seamlessly creative. The fact that the guitars are set by slow and melodic chords, reflects on the following track “W pogoni za wiarą”. It is elevated by these elements, and through the utilized creativity plenty of hooks can be found. “Heilsweg: O Udręce Ciała I Tułaczce Duszy” has its unique ways to transcend beyond the stereotypes, riffs are powerful and rhythm has a deep effect. The cascading blast beats and crashing cymbals draw chemistry with the other instruments like the bass guitar. Whether it’s the vehement tone of the vocals or the complex framework of the guitars, the songs revel in such majesty. Coated in layers and layers of tremolos, the humming chords and dissonance all seem to blend fluently.

Ostatni splot” ignites like a blazing furnace with the searing riffs and sharp tremolo lines, while the contrast between the instruments feels balanced. Harmonized melodies are brought by a refined touch of musicianship. It was clear from the premiered single that Mānbryne were ought to something immense. And here with the five unfolding tracks that stream heavily like the black rainstorm, we behold the sonic upheavals of their refined music. The drums impose a dramatic shift in the songs that brings great intensity and coherence. Boasted with the roaring tides of the drums, “Majestat upadku” is brought into that superior scale of constructive euphony. While the lead guitars take the melody to the zenith the superb role of the vocals remains consistent. 

Simultaneously the riffs swell to the highest peaks achieving a fierce musical phrasing, with varying levels of melodies. Mānbryne shows its wide influence on several black metal styles as they fuse melodies, dissonance, and rhythm wonderfully. The musical palette contains obscure melodies, atmospheric guitar layering, and low vocal screeching. For instance, the erupting pace of the drums on the final track “Na trupa trup” seems to drift into a violent pace. The emphasis is then fully focused on blast beats and dense tremolo textures are meticulously nailed. The utter force of the tremolo-picked riffs and the double bass combine forces together.

Whereas the bass guitar maintains the droning sound, its final effect adds to the swelling melodies. Mānbryne on the debut album endowed with fine qualities, the songs are accessible and offer many hooks. While these qualities have become a staple for the modern aesthetics of black metal, “Heilsweg: O Udręce Ciała I Tułaczce Duszy” comes close to perfection. The debut displays a melodic grandeur and stands as a sonic ideal in our contemporary times, recommended for fans of Mgła, Blaze of Perdition, and Ascension.  

Release Date: April 9th, 2021
Label: Terratur Possessions (LP), and Malignant Voices (CD)
Track list:

  1. Pustka, którą znam
  2. W pogoni za wiarą
  3. Ostatni splot
  4. Majestat upadku
  5. Na trupa trup


  • Music9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics9/10
  • Production 9/10
  • Artwork/ Packaging 9/10
  • Originality9/10
9Mānbryne shows its wide influence on several black metal styles as the fuse melodies, dissonance, and rhythm wonderfully. The musical palette contains obscure melodies, atmospheric guitar layering, and low vocal screeching.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *