GOATS OF DOOM set release date for new album and reveal first track


Purity Through Fire sets January 31st, 2020 as the international release date for Goats of Doom‘s highly anticipated fifth album, Tie on Hänen Omilleen, on CD, vinyl LP, and cassette tape formats.

Despite a somewhat misleading moniker, Goats of Doom are 100% black metal through and through, and one of the Finnish underground’s best-kept secrets. And yet, compared to the filthy recesses of their native contemporaries, Goats of Doom specialize in a sleek and alluringly melodic sort of black metal – no less aggressive, but with the emphasis on mysticism and melody.

Goats of Doom was founded in 2008 by Scaregod and Inasnum. Three full-lengths eventually followed in 2012, 2015, and 2017 with this lineup; in this iteration, the band was more synth-based black metal, but not strictly “symphonic black metal” by definition. Expanded to a trio for their fourth album, 2018’s Rukous, Goats of Doom displayed a new face, where the mysterious atmosphere of old was shot through with more surging aggression and bewitching melody: in essence, a melodic blizzard, if you will. Expanding their lineup yet again to a full five-piece, fittingly, fifth album Tie on Hänen Omilleen sees the band bringing together all their eras while embarking upon yet another new journey.

Very much retaining the characteristically Finnish melancholy of its well-received predecessor, on Tie on Hänen Omilleen do Goats of Doom bring forth a more regal touch – never be too saccharine, of course, but with an almost-medieval style of melodicism – that burns with the same icy-hot touch they’ve made their own these past dozen years. Synths make a subtle return here, as well, but are transposed onto a rougher ‘n’ raw soundfield, grinding these no-less-melodic ruminations deeply into the dirt. Similarly, more “rocking” tropes also make an entrance here, with the sum total of Tie on Hänen Omilleen thus residing in a unique netherworld of nightsky mysticism, alcohol-fueled anger, and a still-perfect balance between grit and gleam, mystery and muscle. Or, simply, once again do these Goats craft unmistakably Finnish black metal that both defines and defies this ever-vibrant scene.

Hear for yourself with the brand-new track “Mustan Unen Äiti” HERE at Purity Through Fire‘s official YouTube channel.

Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Goats of Doom‘s Tie on Hänen Omilleen
1. Mustan Unen Äiti
2. Kuolonkorjaaja
3. Sinne Mihin Valheet Ei Yllä
4. Vakaumus ja Kuolema
5. Veren Veljeskunta
6. Tie on Hänen Omilleen
7. Aamen



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *