NAPALM DEATH launch first single and lyric video “Backlash Just Because” off new album


UK Grindcore pioneers NAPALM DEATH will be releasing their new studio album “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” on September 18th, 2020 via Century Media Records.

Therefore, the group is launching a first single off the upcoming album today. Check out “Backlash Just Because” in a lyric video by Cloud Music Typography.

NAPALM DEATH’s vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway comments about the song as follows: 

“This song in particular really spurred me on when I was writing lyrics for the album overall. It’s raucous and traditional, but also quirky and discordant and ultimately catchy-as-anything in the context of rampaging noise. Lyrically it was directed at the spiteful art of creating easy targets and fomenting paranoia and revulsion, which is something that I feel has become de rigeur in very recent times. I really let loose on the more sporadic vocals at the end of the song – it’s a real barkfest at that point. Lovely.”

“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” is the highly anticipated follow-up to 2015’s acclaimed “Apex Predator – Easy Meat” album and the 16th (!) studio album effort by NAPALM DEATH. It was again recorded with longtime producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe.

From the pinnacle of confrontational instrumental extremity and steadfast lyrical humanity, NAPALM DEATH’s new album warps musical landscapes all over again. “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” includes 12 songs seething with caustic evolution and unrelenting scope. Here is the track-listing for the standard edition of the album:

1. Fuck the Factoid
2. Backlash Just Because
3. That Curse of Being in Thrall
4. Contagion
5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre
6. Invigorating Clutch
7. Zero Gravitas Chamber
8. Fluxing of the Muscle
9. Amoral
10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism
11. Acting in Gouged Faith
12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen

Next to the Jewelcase CD edition of the album, “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” will also be available as Digital album and as limited Mediabook CD (+ Patch) with 3 bonus-tracks: “Feral Carve-up”, “White Kross” (Sonic Youth cover-version) and “Blissful Myth” (Rudimentary Peni cover-version). The vinyl version of the album will include a double-sided A2 poster and the bonus-track “Air’s Turned Foul in Here” in the following 180g. variations and limitations:

Vinyl Europe:
-Black LP – Unlimited
-“Colour is of no concern” LP (creamy white vinyl) – 200x copies from CM Webshop 
-“All that glitters is not enriching” LP (golden vinyl) – 400x copies from CM Distro
-“Era of dazzling indifference” LP (neon orange vinyl) – 200x copies from EMP
-“The cold shoulder of isolationism” LP (transp. blue vinyl) – 200x copies from Nuclear Blast
-“See right through you” LP (clear vinyl) – 300x copies from Napalm Death

Vinyl USA:
-Black LP – Unlimited
-“Germicidal yellow swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from CM Webshop 
-“Stressed sanguine blood smear vinyl” – 500x copies from Indie Stores
-“Mucus with envy swirled vinyl” – 250x copies from Revolver Magazine
-“De-weaponised steel and black swirled vinyl” – 200x copies from Decibel Magazine

The pre-order for “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism”
in its various formats is starting today HERE

Stay tuned for further details on NAPALM DEATH’s upcoming studio album and touring plans coming soon…

Shane Embury – Bass reverberations, barks and moans, noise-testing everyday objects
Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway – Bawling, shrieking, intermittent baritone
Danny Herrera – Turbulent beat throes


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *