ZEAL & ARDOR revealed latest single “Golden Liar” from forthcoming self-titled album


Swiss extremists Zeal & Ardor continue apace towards the release of their self-titled, third album, with the release of epic, evocative new song “Golden Liar”.

Frontman Manuel Gagneux says 

“Golden Liar’is one of the tracks on this record I’m most proud of. Unlike singles released previously from the new album, it’s a slow burn. Rather than using harsh tones to convey heaviness, it uses lyrics and atmosphere to convey weight. It’s both smoke and fire.”

Listen to “Golden Liar” here.

Hissing and seeping justifiable rage from every pore – yet not an unrelenting musical battering – their forthcoming new album will be released February 11, 2022 via MVKA. The 14-track record was recorded by Marc Obrist and Manuel Gagneux at Hutch Sounds and mixed & mastered by Will Putney at Graphic Nature Audio. All songs were written and performed (except drums) by the softly spoken, multi-lingual Gagneux.

The avant-garde alchemists have been gradually sharing the highly anticipated album with fans, steadily unveiling new tracks in recent months. These include Run, Erase”, Bow, and most recently, the ferocious Götterdämmerung

Pre-order now at zealandardor.lnk.to/ZealandArdor to receive these songs immediately, plus any further advance tracks to come, as they’re made available!

The full track listing for Zeal & Ardor is:
1 – Zeal & Ardor
2 – Run
3 – Death To The Holy
4 – Emersion
5 – Golden Liar
6 – Erase
7 – Bow
8 – Feed The Machine
9 – I Caught You
10 – Church Burns
11 – Götterdämmerung
12 – Hold Your Head Low
13 – J-M-B
14 – A-H-I-L

Zeal & Ardor will be available in the following formats:

  • Digital
  • CD digipack
  • 140g black vinyl
  • 140g white vinyl (indie store exclusive)
  • 180g 45rpm, double black vinyl, gatefold sleeve (deluxe)

Zeal & Ardor are currently touring across the USA with rock goliaths Mastodon and Opeth. The band return to Europe in May/June 2022, supporting Meshuggah. All dates below.

No stranger to festivals (having performed at everything from the Montreux Jazz Festival, to Download, Lowlands, Wacken, Reading & Leeds, Roadburn, The Great Escape, Primavera Sound, Graspop, and more), Zeal & Ardor are already confirmed for Hellfest and Graspop in 2022, and most recently confirmed, the UK’s ArcTanGent festival in August 2022, with more festival dates expected.

Zeal & Ardor‘s widely praised second album, Stranger Fruit, was released by MVKA in 2018, following the global attention-getting, multi-million streamed debut, Devil Is Fine. Critically acclaimed across the industry, The Guardian newspaper described Stranger Fruit as “extraordinary and brilliant” upon release. Upset wrote it was “a compelling listen,” Metal Hammer applauded its “sheer musical brilliance,” with Rock Sound concluding, it was “one of the most uniquely daring and wholly affecting albums of 2018 so far,” plus further plaudits rolling in from Rolling Stone, Kerrang!, Noisey, Alternative Press, and more. By Christmas 2018, the UK’s largest free newspaper Metro declared Stranger Fruit their #2 Album of the Year in a cross-genre list, declaring “in this jaw-dropping meld of black American folk music and black metal, the Swiss artist Manuel Gagneux has hit upon something genuinely original.” 

In March 2019, following a blistering set in London the previous December, the band went on to release the double live album Live In London. Then, in October 2020, amidst a provocative and stimulating 18-month profound period of reflection – that led to the writing of the forthcoming self-titled album – the band quietly shared the striking, standalone 6-track EP, Wake Of A Nation. Their intense third album, crystallising everything the band are, will be released in February 2022.

More online:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *