Nanowar of Steel – Italian Folk Metal

/ 0 Comments / By :

When I was going to review this album, I thought I knew I was in for. Well, I wasn’t. It was much better, more surprising and more outrageously good when I listened to it. Nanowar of Steel is probably best known for their songs called ‘Norwegian Reggaeton’ and ‘Valhalleluja’. They make funny songs or parody songs, in the style of heavy metal / hard rock. This new album that was released on July 2nd, is literally in the genre it says what it is: Italian folk metal. So I thought: oh I know folk metal and I know Nanowar of Steel. Little did I know what I was in for…

First song ‘Requiem per Gigi Sabani in Re minore‘ starts off with a classical piece. The instruments are so powerful that I get the chills. Didn’t expect the album to open with that. But nevertheless, it’s much welcomed. Second song ‘L’Assedio Di Porto Cervo‘ is more what I expected. But yet not entirely. I didn’t expect the growls to be so low and heavy. But again, somehow Nanowar of Steel make it fit in the music. ‘La Maledizione di Capitan Findus‘ opens with the sound of the sea flowing. After that, it goes into classical folk metal mode. This is simply the Italian version of the second to last song and first single, ‘Der Fluch des Kapt’n Iglo’, which sung in German and about a brand of fish sticks called Captain Iglo. Yes, this exists and it’s amazing. ‘La Marcia su Piazza Grande‘ was yet a surprise again. It sounds like an anthem. After a minute or so, it could be a rock anthem song. Very unexpected, but much welcomed. 

La Mazurka del Vecchio che Guarda i Cantieri‘ starts off with an accordion doing a scale. After one scale we get a loud and clear electric guitar strum. This repeats a couple of times. I love how you can hear the sound of the buttons being pressed on the accordion. It just makes the music so real. You get the feeling that you are there at the recording process. After that, it turns into a very danceable folk dance beat. It even has the beat of a waltz. I don’t think I ever have heard a metal song with the beat of a waltz. Absolutely unique. The next song ‘La Polenta Taragnarock’ was released earlier as a single of the album. This is more the music style we are used to from Nanowar of Steel. It’s funny, yet also a very solid heavy metal song. This one is not so much folk, but very Italian though. I love that they are rocking out on fake guitars in the music video and that the subject of the song seems to be Italian food.

Rosario‘ surprises us with a piano beginning. After a minute the guitars kick in and this song gets the vibe of a grand finally being played. The next verse starts again with a soft drum beat and a piano leading the way. ‘II Signore degli Anelli dello Stadio‘ starts with a bagpipe. We’re in for a heavier song again. A faster song with deep vocals. Vocals that are on the edge of being clean or growling. I get a Korpiklaani feeling with this song. Raw vocals and fast pace drums and guitars. In the middle of the song, it also could be a football song to cheer the team on. ‘Gabonzo Robot‘ sounds like a punk rock song. Higher, clean vocals on fast, standard tuned guitars with harmonic vocals in the chorus. The next song ‘Sulle Aliquote Della Libertà‘ is then again in dancing mode. We get so many different vibes from this album, yet it all fits. It’s a musical rollercoaster, and I love it. 

Closer of this album, ‘El Baile de los Viejo que Mira las Obras‘, is the same song as the fifth song, ‘La Mazurka del Vecchio che Guarda i Cantieri‘, but sung by a different singer. This time we get raw vocals. Not clean, and also not growling, but just in the middle. The guitars also sound a bit more pinched.

So, wow, what a journey that was. This album is classical Nanowar of Steel. It’s funny, yet solid music as well. Nanowar of Steel knows how to have fun in life and have a laugh. It doesn’t always have to be serious. The topic doesn’t have to be serious. The music is loud and clear and absolutely not a joke. And like their website says:

We take comedy seriously!

Nanowar of Steel

Normally, Nanowar of Steel plays more in the genre of heavy metal or power metal. This time they did Italian folk metal. And yeah, it was awesome too. I had a blast listening to it. It’s danceable, it’s headbangable, it’s definitely a party album that I think would be great live to sing and dance to with everybody else.

Release date: July 2nd 2021
Label: Napalm Records

  1. Requiem per Gigi Sabani in Re minore
  2. L’Assedio di Porto Cervo
  3. La Maledizione di Capitan Findus
  4. La Marcia su Piazza Grande
  5. La Mazurka del Vecchio che Guarda i Cantieri
  6. La Polenta Taragnarock
  7. Scugnizzi of the Land of Fires
  8. Rosario
  9. Il Signore degli Anelli dello Stadio
  10. Gabonzo Robot
  11. Sulle Aliquote Della Libertà
  12. Der Fluch des Kapt’n Iglo
  13. El baile de los Viejos que Miran las Obras


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production/Mix9/10
  • Artwork/Packaging10/10
  • Originality 10/10
9It’s funny, yet solid music as well. Nanowar of Steel knows how to have fun in life and have a laugh. It doesn't always have to be serious. The topic doesn't have to be serious. The music is loud and clear and absolutely not a joke.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *