Sliptrick Records: Japan’s Saber Tiger posts new video “Worst Enemy” | New album out Oct 10th

, ,

For fans of DIO, Rainbow , Symphony X, Kamelot

Japanese progressive power metal group Saber Tiger have released an official video for their song “The Worst Enemy”, one of many standout tracks on their forthcoming album “Obscure Diversity” due out October 10th, 2018 on Sliptrick Records. Brutal and subtle in equal measures, Saber Tiger are taking no one prisoner in this video.

Note: The fleeting outdoor shots seen in the video were taken from the bands recent trip to Latvia in the Baltics (specifically at the ruins and beach in Karosta) very close to our home base at Sliptrick Records in Liepaja.

“Obscure Diversity”demonstrates a band that has no intention of slowing down more than three and a half decades after their formation. If anything, their trademark blend of classy melodicism and fierce intensity is in better balance than ever. Tracks like speed monsters “The Crowbar Case” and “Permanent Rage” feature every aspect that fans have come to expect from Saber Tiger; from the whirlwind guitar work of Akihito Kinoshita and Yasuharu Tanaka to Takenori Shimoyama’s passionate vocals and the intricate rhythms of drummer Yasuhiro Mizuno and bassist hibiki“Beat Of The War Drums” is heavy and modern, while more atmospheric tracks like “The Shade Of Holy Light” and “The Forever Throne” show a surprisingly introspective side of the band without sacrificing any of the band’s renowned heaviness. “Distant Signals”, hibiki’s first songwriting contribution to Saber Tiger’s body of work, even manages to take the band to surprisingly progressive territories. Saber Tiger pulls all of these musical directions off with equal class and conviction, truly accounting for the diversity that they have promised in the album’s title.

Unlike their previous release “Bystander Effect”, which was mixed and mastered by founder Kinoshita himself, Saber Tiger sought international assistance for the sonic representation of “Obscure Diversity”. The band was looking for a certain degree of clarity and power and found exactly that when they enlisted the help of Simone Mularoni, guitarist of Italian progressive power metal band DGM and owner of the Domination Studio in San Marino.

“Obscure Diversity” will be released internationally by Sliptrick Records on October 10th, 2018 and is now available on pre-order here plus will be available on all major music platforms.


1. Daguerreotype Of Phineas Gage
2. The Crowbar Case
3. The Worst Enemy
4. Stain
5. Beat Of The War Drums
6. Distant Signals
7. The Shade Of Holy Light
8. Permanent Rage
9. Seize Your Moment
10. Divide To Deny
11. Paradigm And Parody
12. The Forever Throne
13. The Forever Throne (Acoustic Version) (Bonus Track)

Saber Tiger are:
Takenori Shimoyama – Vocal |
Akihito Kinoshita – Guitar
Yasuharu Tanaka – Guitar
Yasuhiro Mizuno – Drums
hibiki – Bass