Vader – Thy Messenger EP

/ 0 Comments / By :

Polish death metal forerunners Vader have been cleaving their path towards fame, the early entry into the canons of metal genre was in 1983 when the guitarist and vocalist Piotr Pawel Wiwczarek aka Peter formed this band. Around that phase Vader played heavy/speed metal, then later they transformed into a visceral band shifting completely towards death metal music. The huge changes in lineup never halted the progress of this band, and today they are well recognized as one of the most famous death metal acts in Europe. Vader’s musical direction is often influenced by thrash metal, and this explains the unrelenting power of dynamics. In 1992 Vader released some of the best classical death metal records with their debut album The Ultimate Incantation and De Profundis. Which until today is considered one of the best death metal records from Europe.

Image may contain: 4 people, guitar

But unlike their fellow mates Behemoth who introduced the blackened sound to their music, Vader mostly clung to the old school roots and combined fresh elements from thrash metal. Therefore their music feels integral and powerful, so far this prolific band has released 14 studio albums and dozens of singles and EP. And with their newest EP “Thy Messenger” released via Nuclear Blast, Vader carries on with the same mindset where they push their formula towards intensity and extreme energy. Thy Messenger resembles the current style of Vader, the EP comes after 2 years when the band released their latest album The Empire. The nuance of musical direction explores into the loud guitar riffs and brutal thrashing combined into the song structure.

The new EP is short but scourging at the same time directed by straight forward riffs that displays the professional level of execution. The outstanding consistency of the band makes them powerful than ever, and it clearly shows the energetic spirits of the songs. Thy Messenger is only 13 minutes long, and it includes three new tracks and the re-recorded version of Litany and Judas Priest cover song “Steeler”. The opening track Grand Deceiver is a pulverizing death metal song, stemmed by heavy guitar riffage, pummeling drums and fast solos that outlines the familiar style of the band. Yet the memorable moments are engaged with extreme guitar solos which are more habitual by the band.

The re-recorded track “Litany” is approached with ultra-blast beast and insane brutal riffs, the production is crystal clear and top notch which gives the tracks a huge boost. Emptiness is driven with the fury of the guitar riffs and super tight drumming, The EP also display the cohesive chemistry between the members. Vader always entertain their fans with fast, serpentine solos and this has become one of their weapons. The EP demonstrates the acute song-writing, and the riff work is always attained at breakneck speed, these super yet powerful elements which the band is known for.

Vader simply understands how to employ the fierce tone of thrash metal and death metal altogether in one destructive blow. The new tracks are highly energetic and pulverizing containing contagious riffs that will make you head-bang instantly to the music. In general Thy Messenger is so far the best death metal EP of the year 2019, and by releasing these new tracks it feels like the band is up to something huge. In the death metal caliber Vader are still among the greatest bands like Asphyx, Cannibal Corpse, Skeletal Remains and Immolation. And this EP is only a teaser before the band announces the title of their upcoming album which will be released sometimes this year.

Release Date: 31st May, 2019
Label: Nuclear Blast
Track list:

  1. Grand Deceiver
  2. Litany
  3. Emptiness
  4. Despair
  5. Steeler (Judas Priest cover)


  • Music8/10
  • Lyrics/Vocals8/10
  • Production8/10
  • Artwork8/10
  • Originality8/10
8Vader carries on with the same mindset where they push their formula towards intensity and extreme energy.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *