Graphic Nature announced upcoming new album ‘A Mind Waiting To Die’ and share new video single

, , ,

UK heavy metal band, Graphic Nature, have announced their highly anticipated debut album ‘a mind waiting to die’, which will be released on February 17th 2023 via Rude Records. Earlier, the band also released a new single and music video for “Killing Floor” available now.

“‘Killing floor’ is an interesting song”, explains vocalist Harvey Freeman. “I wrote the lyrics in a completely different style to any song we’ve ever written before. Usually I write about things that I go through in day to day life, emotions that I struggle with. But this track is very different, I wrote the song from the perspective of a wannabe serial killer…someone that isn’t seen by the public eye but craves the attention and thrill of the consequences that come with killing another human being. The character from the video has watched far too many movies and takes things quite literally. If you’re an avid film watcher you will see many references to certain movies and tv shows like American Psycho, The Zodiac, Joker, Dexter etc. He also based his “mask” on characters like Mankind from WWE and Hush from Batman. There’s a certain dark humour to his movements and actions. How he speaks to himself and dances around the room. He keeps a journal of people he’s stalking currently. He is very amateur but thinks he’s the best at his craft. The song itself is probably one of our more creative songs we’ve written”.

Graphic Nature are known for their ‘in your face’ approach to mental health issues and suffering. Mixing moments of snarling nu-metal aggro and the scalding fury of Slipknot’s debut album with instrumental passages that at times recall the genius of Nine Inch NailsTrent Reznor, is where they have nailed the Graphic Nature sound. Taking their name from a track on DeftonesKoi No Yokan album, in 2019 Graphic Nature announced themselves with the single ‘Grit‘, and immediately began carving a name for themselves as a ferocious new force in British metal.

The new release for “Killing Floor” follows the singles “White Noise”,“Into The Dark” and “Bad Blood”, which are available for streaming now and can all be found on the new album.

“This is our first album. We wrote the entirety of the record during lockdown when things were at their darkest”, adds Freeman“A lot of the lyrical content stems from personal experience and challenges with mental health and isolation. Each song has a different subject, much like our previous tracks. We dive deep into depression, thoughts that lead you to a very dark place, frustration, sensory overload, anxiety, trauma, relationship issues etc. It’s a lot to take in and we’ve portrayed it in what we believe to be a perfect representation of how our heads process these things: pure anger over heavy riffs and drum beats”.

“a mind waiting to die”
1. 404
2. Sour
3. Into The Dark
4. Killing Floor
5. Sleepless
6. White Noise
7. 90
8. Bad Blood
9. Twisted Fear
10. Headstone
11. Death Wish
12. A Twin
13. The Downpour

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *