Lordi – Lordiversity

/ 0 Comments / By : , , and

Last year, our favorite monsters of Lordi surprised and impressed with ‘Killection‘, a fictional compilation album as if the band had been around since the seventies. Featuring tracks that represented different decades of music, going so far to every time record the songs with time appropriate gear and techniques. Back then I was wondering where mr. Lordi and his band of misfits could take it next and boy did he take it to the next level! Since all live activities got to a halt, he had a bunch of extra time on his hands and he mustered up the crazy idea to follow up the fictional compilation album with a matching fictional back catalogue, recording and releasing a box set of 7 albums from different time periods in rock music history!

For a quick overview of what you can find in the set:

  • Skeletric Dinosaur: an early 70s rock album inspired by early Kiss, Alice Cooper and a touch of Black Sabbath
  • Superflytrap: late 70s disco album, inspired by Earth, Wind & Fire, Boney M and Bee Gees
  • The Masterbeast From The Moon: early 80s concept/prog rock album, inspired by Rush and Pink Floyd
  • Abusement Park: 80s hard/glam/stadium rock album, inspired by W.A.S.P., Twisted Sister, Kiss and Scorpions
  • Humanimals: late 80s AOR album, inspired by Bon Jovi, Desmond Child and Alice Cooper
  • Abracadaver: early 90s heavy/thrash metal album, inspired by Anthrax, Metallica and Pantera
  • Spooky Sextravaganza Spectacular: 90s industrial metal album, inspired by White Zombie, Nine Inch Nails, Ministry and Killing Joke

Listening to all these albums in one go is not a small feat and will ask a bit under 5 hours of your time. You could think that writing and recording that much music will automatically bring a bunch of fillers and lesser quality tracks, but I can tell you it’s quite the opposite! Every album has its merits and own identity that is perfectly matched with the era of music it supposedly was released in. From each chapter in the box, there are at least a couple of tracks that we’d play over and over again and we believe are some of the best work of Lordi‘s lengthy career. You can catch the influences that significant bands from each era has had on the music that was written and recorded, without ever losing that Lordi touch and signature sound.

We’ve taken the effort to write up a short review of each album in this box set, especially since they made the interesting move to first release the full box back in November, to then release an album every couple of weeks digitally. So while this was a monster of a physical release when it came out, they actually gave every album its time in the spotlight, spreading the attention somewhat and basically playing a really smart marketing game considering nowadays’ social media platforms and people’s short attention span. One thing we do advise, is to really take your time to go on an adventure and possibly discover some styles and bands you hadn’t come across yet. There really is a vast amount of quality music to get through and you really should go for it! For more detailed writings about the albums, go to the next pages in this article.

Release date: November 26, 2021
Label: AFM Records
Album list:

  1. Skelectric Dinosaur (1975)
  2. Superflytrap (1979)
  3. The Masterbeast From The Moon (1981)
  4. Abusement Park (1984)
  5. Humanimals (1989)
  6. Abracadaver (1991)
  7. Spooky Sextravaganza Spectacular (1995)


  • Music / Composition9/10
  • Vocals / Lyrics8/10
  • Production / Mixing9/10
  • Artwork / Packaging9/10
  • Originality10/10
9There is really loads of music to be discovered in this 7 album box set by Lordi. Some might not be your thing, some might really vibe with you, but there is no denying that one for one these are high quality rock/metal albums with something for almost everyone! Go on an adventure and discover some really cool tunes, genres and artists!
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *